XP CD Key question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-24-2005, 02:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 273
Default XP CD Key question

I reinstall XP on my system every couple of months just to keep things running smooth. But now its saying I've activated my CD Key too many times. Is there anything I can do about this? Do I need to buy a whole new copy of windows xp or can I just buy a new product key?
__________________

__________________
Laptop:
Dell E1705
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.0GHz T7200
2GB DDR2 667MHz
80GB 5400RPM HDD
256MB nVidia 7900 GeForce Go

sayaprayer is offline  
Old 01-24-2005, 02:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

You need to call them on the phone activation section. When you use the key more than 3 times, you can't activate it anymore.
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-24-2005, 02:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,343
Send a message via AIM to southernlady Send a message via Yahoo to southernlady
Default

No, contact MS and tell them why you installed your XP one too many times, usually 99.9% of the time, they will make you go theu the entire explaination and then give you this LONG key to plug in and then you are good to go for a long time to come. Hardware changes are the biggest problem. Liz

As long as YOU have the orignial cd sleeve and key, you are good to go. Liz
__________________
<font size=\"1\"><a href=\"http://www.prioritycomputers.net/\" target=\"_blank\">Priority Computers</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download506.html\" target=\"_blank\">AdAware SE</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download2471.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpyBot-Search & Destroy</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download2859.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpywareBlaster</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download3045.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpywareGuard</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download3155.html\" target=\"_blank\">HijackThis</a> | <font color=\"red\"> <a href=\"http://www.stealingisillegal.com/\" target=\"_blank\">Stealing is illegal</font></a> <form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\"><br />
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search Tech-Forums!\"></form><font size=\"1\"><i>Powered by Emily!</i></font><br />
<br />
southernlady is offline  
Old 01-24-2005, 02:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 273
Default

Awesome thanks for you help! Saved me some money, much appriciated!
__________________
Laptop:
Dell E1705
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.0GHz T7200
2GB DDR2 667MHz
80GB 5400RPM HDD
256MB nVidia 7900 GeForce Go

sayaprayer is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 10:30 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 7
Default

how about this....make a fresh install ya knw put all the drivers in and progs that you use often...then get Noton ghost make a image of the hard drive then there you go you can do that as many times as you want...and also you dont have to reinstall everything agian its all there. if you have any questions e-mail me silenteminence@yahoo.com
SilentEminence is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.