XP Booting - Annoying Message - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-05-2004, 11:39 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 31
Default XP Booting - Annoying Message

Have recently wiped a computer with XP installed. It previously had two HArd drives, with XP on them both. Upon booting I used to be able to select which Operating system to boot.
The main hard drive has been formatted, and the secondary drive removed. It all works fine, but when i boot it up i get the message asking if i want to boot

1. Windows XP Professional
2. (BLANK)

And it gives me 30 seconds to choose one

I did a clean install, does anyone know how to remove this request?
__________________

stehodges is offline  
Old 09-05-2004, 12:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Sure, with XP, right click on My Computer and goto properties. Goto the advanced tab and click on "Settings" in the Startup and Recovery section. Uncheck the "Time to display list of operating systems" option bit.
__________________

mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 09-05-2004, 12:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 31
Default

Cheers, wasnt quite what I meant, i wanted to remove the second option but you pointed me in the right direction!
Thanks
stehodges is offline  
Old 09-05-2004, 12:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

lol......ok for clarification. Click "Edit" on that same screen and then manually anything under the first selection.
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 09-05-2004, 08:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
HoLoCroN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Plant City, FL
Posts: 1,305
Default

What you want to look for is the boot.ini, your system is looking for another bootable partition. By clicking in the "edit" button, the system opens the boot.ini file and shows you the list of bootable options. If you are going to have just one operating system, then all you will need is one OS entry.

If you have one partition, it should have one entry similar to this:


[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Micro soft Windows XP Professional" /fastdetect /NoExecute=OptIn
HoLoCroN is offline  
Old 09-05-2004, 08:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

what does this mean: /NoExecute=OptIn
i don't have this
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-05-2004, 08:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
HoLoCroN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Plant City, FL
Posts: 1,305
Default

That is a good question. If you want more info on boot.ini switches, you can go here.

The short answer, to help avoid malicious code execution...


Long answer:

/NOEXECUTE

This option is only available on 32-bit versions of Windows when running on AMD64 processors and only when PAE (see the /PAE switch) is also enabled. It enables no-execute protection, which results in the Memory Manager marking pages containing data as no-execute so that they cannot be executed as code. This can be useful for preventing malicious code from exploiting buffer overflow bugs with unexpected program input in order to execute arbitrary code. No-execute protection is always enabled on 64-bit versions of Windows on AMD64 processors.

I believe this switch also works in Intel processors because the computer that I used to copy the boot.ini file is running a Intel Mobile P4 2.8Ghz processor.
HoLoCroN is offline  
Old 09-05-2004, 08:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Thanks, that's a great link!
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.