XP boot - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-03-2002, 10:28 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 42
Default XP boot

After reinstalling XP,which solved many problems, I can not boot up without my XP disk. When I try, I just get a insert disk and hit any key command. I have tried to find a way to boot from hard drive in normal mode but can't. Every inquiry to knowledge base has not addressed this issue. Any ideas or fixes. Also my num lock turns off each time I boot or log on which is a pain if anyone can tell me how to stop this. I have never encountered these problems through 3 operating systems and am baffled.
__________________

__________________
OLOPBOB
olopbob is offline  
Old 10-03-2002, 01:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 160
Send a message via AIM to Vile Send a message via Yahoo to Vile
Default

So every time you boot, you MUST have the XP CD in the drive??

That's very odd, and it should not do that.

Do you have XP home or Pro?
__________________

__________________
Administrator & Webmaster:
MegaGames | MegaGames Forum

http://www.mgforums.com/vsig.gif
Vile is offline  
Old 10-03-2002, 03:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 91
Send a message via AIM to SePhErUm Send a message via Yahoo to SePhErUm
Default

Your right. that is crazy.. i have windows xp pro.. and i have no problems
__________________
----------------------------------------
Brandon Cook
http://www.anarchy-industries.com
Pentium II 333MHz
96 MB Ram
Geforce 4 MX 440
2 SCSI 4GB Hdds\'
anything else?
SePhErUm is offline  
Old 10-03-2002, 04:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 42
Default

XP home. I think it could be a bios problem but hate to go there.
__________________
OLOPBOB
olopbob is offline  
Old 10-03-2002, 06:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422
Default

Worth a try to set the primary boot device to floppy, then HD and CD-ROM, though if you are having severe problems try putting HD as first-priority.
__________________
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 10-06-2002, 02:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 42
Default

Thanks everyone, now booting from hd. Still can't figure out num lock prob, have changed num lock value set for InitialKeyboardIndicators from 0 to 2 but still turns off with logoff.
Thanks again everyone.
__________________
OLOPBOB
olopbob is offline  
Old 10-09-2002, 08:02 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 42
Default Crash

Well it happened, "fatal error". Had to totally reformat. Bad news lost it all, good news after complete reinstall all my problems disappeared along with everything else. Funny how my recovery disk, safe mode or anything else could save it. I knew to much tinkering might cause trouble but who'd have thunk it?
__________________

__________________
OLOPBOB
olopbob is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.