XP activation, very weird story - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-27-2006, 06:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 530
Default XP activation, very weird story

OK, I have to try and keep this short, it's long story.

A while ago I bought XP on ebay for my first custom built PC. Turns out it was an OEM version, but still shrink wrapped and all. So of course, activation didn't work, called up MS, eventually got some kind of key and it worked. A few months later my HDD was screwing up, so I reformatted, ended up doing the same thing, called MS, etc.

Now, my HDD was screwing up again last week, and I knew I needed to get an RMA. So, I downloaded a tool to detect my XP product key, and it turned out to be the exact same key as my family Compaq computer.....which was also a key that the MS lady gave me on the phone.......I don't get how.

Soo, my new HDD is now in, and I just got off the phone w/ MS. This time, the guy basically told me sorry, you have to buy a 'real' version since its OEM. I got mad of course, telling him it's not like I pirated the version and plus 2 other MS people were nice and helped me out.

So then, I went to the activation screen, and clicked "Change product key" and did like the computer woman told me after I called up AGAIN. I put in the OEM key, no luck. Then, I put in the key that the MS person told me way back (the one that matches my Compaq) and voila! It activated.

Now what in the world is going on?? Can I get in trouble somehow for something? I am just so confused and I want an explanation.

I hope this made sense to somebody, cause it certainly doesn't make sense to me.
__________________

__________________
Quintox is offline  
Old 05-27-2006, 06:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

If it works fine then i would just leave it.
__________________

Mentali$T is offline  
Old 05-27-2006, 06:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Technically those popups saying you may be a victem of unofficial MS products may pop up if you download their newest security patches but you have done nothing wrong.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 05-27-2006, 10:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 957
Send a message via AIM to M4A1
Default

Weird story -- don't worry about it. If they contact you for whatever reason they feel necessary, then you can read off what you wrote on the first post.
M4A1 is offline  
Old 05-27-2006, 11:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

...Does the first five characters of the Product Key start with:

MVF4D

?
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 05-27-2006, 11:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

get drive image 7 or norton ghost 10 and back your system up to another hdd or to dvd. now if your system crashes, restore it to it's working condition. you won't need to activate it
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 05-27-2006, 11:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default Re: XP activation, very weird story

Quote:
Originally posted by Quintox
OK, I have to try and keep this short, it's long story.

A while ago I bought XP on ebay for my first custom built PC. Turns out it was an OEM version, but still shrink wrapped and all. So of course, activation didn't work, called up MS, eventually got some kind of key and it worked. A few months later my HDD was screwing up, so I reformatted, ended up doing the same thing, called MS, etc.

Now, my HDD was screwing up again last week, and I knew I needed to get an RMA. So, I downloaded a tool to detect my XP product key, and it turned out to be the exact same key as my family Compaq computer.....which was also a key that the MS lady gave me on the phone.......I don't get how.

Soo, my new HDD is now in, and I just got off the phone w/ MS. This time, the guy basically told me sorry, you have to buy a 'real' version since its OEM. I got mad of course, telling him it's not like I pirated the version and plus 2 other MS people were nice and helped me out.

So then, I went to the activation screen, and clicked "Change product key" and did like the computer woman told me after I called up AGAIN. I put in the OEM key, no luck. Then, I put in the key that the MS person told me way back (the one that matches my Compaq) and voila! It activated.

Now what in the world is going on?? Can I get in trouble somehow for something? I am just so confused and I want an explanation.

I hope this made sense to somebody, cause it certainly doesn't make sense to me.

what tool did you use?
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-28-2006, 03:32 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 67
Default Re: Re:

Quote:
Originally posted by Alvin.C
Hello,

...Does the first five characters of the Product Key start with:

MVF4D

?

Are you referring to this:
http://www.microsoft.com/technet/pro.../oempreac.mspx


Quote:
This time, the guy basically told me sorry, you have to buy a 'real' version since its OEM.
Anyway, I thought that Microsoft's EULA states that in the OEM license is tied to the motherboard. So for the guy to tell you that you have to purchase the real version is ridiculous. I would have asked to speak with a manager, or just hang up and dial again to see if you could get another person to help you.

Quote:
and it turned out to be the exact same key as my family Compaq computer
Is it the same as what the program is telling you, or is it the same as what is on the sticker. If it is the same as what is on the sticker then there could be a problem. That license key should only be used for one computer, however if Microsoft told you to use it then just tell them that and see what happens; You still own that other license.
If it is the same as what the program is telling you, then it is most likely one of their volume keys that manufacturers use to install windows on many all of their pcs. Most PC companies will use the same volume key on all of their computers that they build (generally that is what is on the restore discs as well). This allows them to mass produce the restore discs, and quickly install Windows and the other crap that they put on the computer. However I am not sure if these activate or not.
mestizo122 is offline  
Old 05-28-2006, 10:58 AM   #9 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Re: Re:

Quote:
Originally posted by mestizo122

If it is the same as what the program is telling you, then it is most likely one of their volume keys that manufacturers use to install windows on many all of their pcs. Most PC companies will use the same volume key on all of their computers that they build (generally that is what is on the restore discs as well). This allows them to mass produce the restore discs, and quickly install Windows and the other crap that they put on the computer. However I am not sure if these activate or not.
you hit it on the nose
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 05-28-2006, 11:08 AM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Tyler1989
Technically those popups saying you may be a victem of unofficial MS products may pop up if you download their newest security patches but you have done nothing wrong.
That is what happened to me. I had it popping up for nearly a week and it went away yesterday, and on the site it said I had a genuine copy. Very strange. How much do you think I could sue for loss of earnings having to wait 5 seconds at every boot?
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.