xp or 98 - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-09-2006, 06:40 PM   #21 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

XP will run fine on 333MHz + 256MB of RAM. Ofcourse more is better.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 02-09-2006, 06:41 PM   #22 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

Just whack it on and if it works it works, if it doesnt it doesnt.

Probably will work but be slow and then of coarse you will be adding programmes etc and it will just come to a stand still probably, you just need to get some more ram and then think about a new processor.
__________________

jonny_uk is offline  
Old 02-09-2006, 08:48 PM   #23 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

I used to have a computer with a 500mhz k6 processor with 192mb ram back in 2003. It worked fine right up untill last november then just got really slow then we just stopped using it.

So ya just take that computer and add more ram. open it up and see how many free ram slots you have then get a 256mb ram stick for each free slot and you should be fine. You should be able to get 768mb total in that computer.
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 02-09-2006, 09:06 PM   #24 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally posted by sales1
i need some shycronized ermmm oh sdram i think mate

Ill see what I got....
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-10-2006, 03:47 PM   #25 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 63
Default

right mikee i have had my computer open more imes than you have changed your boxers i know i have no spare slots i will chuck some if i have to but all i need to know is that i can run windows xp because i want to make a descoin by sunday then i wan to buy it if can run it and i have just de frag my computer so it should be a bit faster
__________________
windows xp home edtion sp2
250gb hard drive
1024 mb of ram
intel pent 4 3.06 1mb chache
geforce 6600le graphics card
sales1 is offline  
Old 02-10-2006, 03:49 PM   #26 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 63
Default

good idea jonny but the point of coming on this forum was to find out before i buy something and don't waste my money
__________________

__________________
windows xp home edtion sp2
250gb hard drive
1024 mb of ram
intel pent 4 3.06 1mb chache
geforce 6600le graphics card
sales1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.