xp or 98 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-05-2006, 12:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 63
Unhappy xp or 98

right i have a pc with windows 98 and i can get the disk for xp i was wondering if the would be do able or not
__________________

sales1 is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 12:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Sure can but it will probably be slow as ****, what are the specs? I would say go to 2000 pro
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 01:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 63
Default

thanks what will i need to get xp then i have 256 ram what do i need as i am upgrading the pc soon if i know i can buy the right gear in the first place and not waste my money
__________________
windows xp home edtion sp2
250gb hard drive
1024 mb of ram
intel pent 4 3.06 1mb chache
geforce 6600le graphics card
sales1 is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 01:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 24
Send a message via AIM to jayboi2005
Default

256MB of RAM meets the requirements. But in my personal opinion i would not run XP on 256MB of ram. But yes thats enough technically but again i love to run programmes such as Adobe Photoshop CS so i like lots of RAM.

To install Windows XP 'Home' (or 'Pro' Edition) onto your new PC, it will need to meet the following specification:

PC with 300 megahertz (MHz) or higher processor clock speed recommended; 233-MHz minimum required;
(Intel Pentium/Celeron family, AMD K6/Athlon/Duron family, or compatible processor recommended)
128 megabytes (MB) of RAM or higher recommended
(64 MB minimum supported; may limit performance and some features)
1.5 Gigabyte (GB) of available hard disk space
Super VGA (800 × 600) or higher resolution video adapter and monitor
CD-ROM or DVD drive
Keyboard and Microsoft Mouse or compatible pointing device
jayboi2005 is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 01:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sales1
thanks what will i need to get xp then i have 256 ram what do i need as i am upgrading the pc soon if i know i can buy the right gear in the first place and not waste my money
It'll run ok if you slim it down and turn the pretty features off.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 03:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 63
Default

right thanks so i could do with some more ram and my celron processor will do the job
__________________
windows xp home edtion sp2
250gb hard drive
1024 mb of ram
intel pent 4 3.06 1mb chache
geforce 6600le graphics card
sales1 is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 04:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 506
Default

My girlfriend ran XP on her computer with 256Mb of ram right up until a month ago. She only had problems when she has a ton of programs running.
cedjunior is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 06:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally posted by sales1
right thanks so i could do with some more ram and my celron processor will do the job
Sure can.....
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-06-2006, 01:18 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 63
Default

right i am going to get some more ram soon so i will get xp installed as soon as i can thanks for the info
__________________
windows xp home edtion sp2
250gb hard drive
1024 mb of ram
intel pent 4 3.06 1mb chache
geforce 6600le graphics card
sales1 is offline  
Old 02-06-2006, 08:13 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

what kind of ram do you need?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.