XP 64 and Vista - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-19-2006, 06:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 12
Default XP 64 and Vista

if this subject has been covered, i apologise, and would appreciate a link if it has been. if not....

if possible i would please like some advice on these OS's. my new system will be arriving in the next few days and considering it has an amd 64 processor (x2 4200) i was wondering whether it was worth installing xp 64 if i was to see any benefits. i have also 'acquired' a copy of vista, but i don't know whether it is 64 bit compatible. i read somewhere it is both 64 bit and 32 bit compatible, but the source wasn't reliable and i am not really an expert.

my concern is, whenever microsoft initially release anything it is normally full of bugs and problems so i am sceptical of whether to try these new OS's or just install my xp home edition.

any advice would be appreciated.

thanks
__________________

Sisko is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 08:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Yes XP x64 is worth it read why .


As you "aquired" vista you will not get support but yes there is both a x86 and x64 version.
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 05:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 12
Default

thank you tyler. great link, very informative and i am much obliged. i think i will save up some cash and buy xp 64, i'm sure the support will come in handy if anything goes wrong. and would also put my mind at ease.

one other question though, if i may. in that link you say that, 64 bit uses more ram than 32 bit. my system only has 1gb ram. would this be sufficient?
Sisko is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 05:52 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 12
Default

thank you tyler. great link, very informative and i am much obliged. i think i will save up some cash and buy xp 64, i'm sure the support will come in handy if anything goes wrong. and would also put my mind at ease.

one other question though, if i may. in that link you say that, 64 bit uses more ram than 32 bit. my system only has 1gb ram. would this be sufficient?
Sisko is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 07:32 AM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

1GB of RAM should be sufficent but since it is 64Bit more might help out. Not sure off hand if the processor is Dual Core or not. But more RAM couldnt hurt the system.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 07:45 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 12
Default

yeah, it is an athlon x2.

i`ve not received it yet (should be here tomorrow, can't wait), i just hope they have used one stick of 1gb ram so i can then just buy another 1gb stick.
Sisko is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 08:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Congrates but yes the 64 bit does use more ram because of the larger registers but 1GB is more than enough by todays standards.
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.