XP 64-bit drivers - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-27-2005, 04:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Exclamation XP 64-bit drivers

Now from what I hear this is a problem. I just check my printer manufacturer and they don't offer 64-bit drivers. I am sure neither do my webcam manufacturer. So where does this leave us? Buy all new stuff or wait for these guys to get off their asses and write some new drivers??...

Alternatively, do any of you fellas know whether Microsoft offers some kind of driver interpreter that can work with 32-bit drivers? I don't care if it's slower, as long as it works. It can run 32-bit apps. Why the hell can't they do the same thing with drivers.. I know I know, it's at a different layer altogether. But still. It shouldn't be impossible..
__________________

Chankama is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 05:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Nope you defiantly need special 64 bit drivers, I have ran it.

Your only option is to wait for them to release 64bit drivers or buy new, or make your own drivers.
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 05:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

its prolly not. but "the customer" is asking microsoft give them a few years and they just might help.. if not "hackers" will make them on their own and itll become a small business and microsoft will buy it then we can finally have our drivers for everything to work! but we'll need an activation code wont we.. geeze then itll be up to our hackers again to make up a new program for that

sorry lol thought id say that. but maybe one day they will make an update to make it so we can use both.. if not we'll just have to buy new ones all together.. which will eventually happen when they upgrade it alot so oh well
__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 07:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

omg. Blitze, I have no idea what u said just now man. lol. I think u said something like, we need "hackers to make the drivers since the companies and microsoft won't get off their asses and address the issue", right?

And Chris, u mean u have the evaluation version of XP 64-bit running in ur box? How is it? Worth the jump?
Chankama is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 09:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

I had it, I was having software compatability issues with farcry? and crap

No peformance gain and actually a loss in 32bit
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.