XP 64-bit - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-16-2006, 09:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default XP 64-bit

I have a new hard drive comming and I have a legal copy of XP Pro x64 sitting in my desk. Have the drivers matured enough to where x64 would be a decent option? Or should I just keep using my tried and true XP Pro.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Old 09-16-2006, 09:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

i would say stick with Pro it x64 still has its flaws
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 09-16-2006, 11:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

Why don't you just dual boot....
Law is offline  
Old 09-16-2006, 11:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Law
Why don't you just dual boot....
I see no point in dual boots personally, unless you need a version of Linux for some reason on the same PC as Windows.

Anybody have experience with XP64?
beedubaya is offline  
Old 09-17-2006, 12:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default

I'm using X64. I've gotten the only drivers that I've needed. I got my driver for my integrated 5.1 sound and for my nVIDIA video card. The Windows default network driver worked, so I didn't try installing another one.

I've only had a couple of programs not work for me so far. Alcohol 120% and Tuneup Utilities.
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 09-18-2006, 12:35 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by OpticalIllusion
I'm using X64. I've gotten the only drivers that I've needed. I got my driver for my integrated 5.1 sound and for my nVIDIA video card. The Windows default network driver worked, so I didn't try installing another one.

I've only had a couple of programs not work for me so far. Alcohol 120% and Tuneup Utilities.
So were you able to get flash to work? I've heard some reports that it does, but some that it doesn't either.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 09-18-2006, 03:06 AM   #7 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

I use to run a dual boot system. I only used the 64bit part for video editing (there was a difference of speed too) as a lot of stuff ddn't work with it
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 09-18-2006, 10:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by beedubaya
So were you able to get flash to work? I've heard some reports that it does, but some that it doesn't either.
Flash works just fine with Firefox, if that's what you're talking about.

I was using the 64 bit Firefox for awhile, but I switched back to 32 bit for some reason. I don't think my bookmarks.html worked for it or something. That's not a big deal, just use 32 bit Firefox and it works fine.
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 09-19-2006, 09:09 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to neoLeech Send a message via Yahoo to neoLeech
Default

mmm hopefully vista will be good so I can finally switch to 64bit os
__________________

neoLeech is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.