xp 32 bit too 64 bit - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-04-2005, 09:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
mlr
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 326
Default xp 32 bit too 64 bit

hi all im thinking updating my system to a nice 64 bit board im keeping most of my stuff just want to upgrade my motherboard and cpu for time being,anyway i have xp pro 32 bit at moment and was wondering if you can just upgrade to the 64 bit edition or will i have to buy the 64 bit operating system
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4800
at 2.76 ghz
dfi lanparty expert
PCI-E *Extreme Edition* GF7800GT *524 Core 1250Ghz Crucial Ballistix 2 x 1 Gig DDR 500 PC4000
20\" DELL Ultrasharp 2005FPW Midnight Grey Widescreen LCD Monitor
wdc wd5000 akas-aatmao ata
wd 2500jb external
pioneer dvr 108
lg gdr8161b dvd rom

\"640K ought to be enough for anybody.\" - Bill Gates, 1981[/size]
mlr is offline  
Old 07-04-2005, 01:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 496
Default

Heyyo,

I dunno if you can upgrade your windows xp straight to windows 64bit but it should since all the previous windows did have an option to upgrade, if not just partition an hd or get another one, n' install that sucker in multi boot. I use grub for that since I got fedora core 3 going. Pwnage. I'mma wait on FC4 after they get maybe another couple of upgrades onnit.. or when someone burns me it since I have limited bandwith... so whichever happens first. :P

Now, have you already bought the x64 pro edition of windows xp? If not, I suggest holding back for now. Only Far Cry has a 64bit edition of the game, very few actual windows 64bit programs... so all you'll really benefit from is your windows os will run much faster is about it.. maybe just a couple seconds off the load times, I dunno.. But yeah, if you wait, the price will drop onnit, so that's extra cash in the pocket, or you could save up for that new Windows Longhorn due out if not delayed at the end of next year.

But yeah, ultimately, it's up to you man. You'd be able to show off how uber- fast your os is, and your far cry in respect to gaming (Did I mention I love to game? :P).

[EDIT]
DOH! can't believe I forgot to mention this, but if ya want dude, there's free versions of some of the Linux os's that are 64bit. But you do have an ati.. and ati's support for Linux is sadly, quite low compared to nvidia. Don't expect to play anything on Linux without some painful framerate loss.. for now.
__________________

__________________
Later-A-Much, and LONG LIVE THE D!
æ ThE_MarÐ
ThE_MarD is offline  
Old 07-04-2005, 01:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

http://microsoft.productorder.com/clientx64


You will have to pay for postage but, 64bit windows is still a bit buggy (as all windows are at the start) and unless you got 64bit games, than you will have a performance drop.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.