XP 32 or 64? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-14-2006, 04:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 40
Default XP 32 or 64?

I'm building a new system tomorrow (intel dual core 2gigs ram, pretty nice) and will be using it for a lot of dreamweaver, firefox(20-30 tabs), photoshop, illustrator, excel and am wondering if I should just use XP 32bit or move to the 64bit version.

Will 64bit help me at all?

What special things would I need to do if I decide to go with the 64bit version? Driver issues?

Thanks.
__________________

alphacooler is offline  
Old 11-14-2006, 05:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 101
Default

no it wont really help you unless you can find 64 bit versions of the programs your going to use if u cant windows will use the WoW32 basically an emulator of a 32 bit system therefore not giving an extra advantage at all
__________________

icantflybfplane is offline  
Old 11-14-2006, 05:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 101
Default

also sorry i didnt see the thing about drivers, yes drivers will be an issue, you need to find 64 bit drivers as well to interface with the 64bit windows, those are hard to find/non existant for some products, stick with xp 32 bit
__________________
-E6300 Intel Core Duo 1.86GHz
-ASUS P5NSLI Motherboard
-OCZ PC6400 800MHz 4x1GB Platinum series
-XFX 8800GTX
-OCZ Gamer Xtream 700W PSU
-2x160GB WD HD in RAID 0
-Antec Nine Hundred case
icantflybfplane is offline  
Old 11-14-2006, 05:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

Um, yeah it could. Looking at what he will be using it for, with the exception of firefox, most programs he is looking at have 64bit version. Photoshop, Adobe, many many modeling and rendering programs. It depends on how professional you are talking as far as graphics. Not sure about dreamweaver, though.l Now as far as graphic cards... are you using a standard card or professional development card? Really, to give you a acurate answer to your question need to know how professional you are going. A good graphic design card can run all the way upto almost $3000. That is video card, only.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 11-14-2006, 07:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 101
Default

yea i didnt say it wouldnt work i said if he could find 64 bit ver. i didnt know if it had any if they do then yea by all means go for it but if they dont then its almost pointless
icantflybfplane is offline  
Old 11-14-2006, 09:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 78
Default

The drivers arent that hard to find... all nvidia and Logitech, and many other business have a 64 bit driver for most of their products- all of their new ones. I tried it for a while (trial) and it wasn't as bad as everyone makes it sound, they never tried it just heard bad things about it.

But don't get 64bit. Your dual core will be good enough, and you may experience some problems with program compatibility, so you could just avoid that entirely.
__________________
- Link
Link68759 is offline  
Old 11-15-2006, 11:31 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
fixal0t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 246
Default

I'm currently using x64 with no problems, all programs work fine, some are on wow, and some aren't, system's so fast you can't tell.
I'm also SLI with no problems.
Just make sure you get all the updates from M$, they've already ironed out most of the kinks.
The only concern I'd have is; isn't the core 2 duo architecture 32bit with two "channels", and not a true 64bit proc.?
Don't know if x64 will like that. Or am I mistaken?
__________________

__________________
Case:NZXT Trinity Silver PSU:Apevia Aspire 500W UV Green Motherboard:Asus A8N-SLI CPU:AMD Athlon 64 3500 CPU Cooler:Zalman CNPS7700-Cu Video:2x eVga nVidia GeForce 6800XT (256MB DDR) RAM:2Gig (4x512 Corsair TwinX dual channel) HDD:160Gig Seagate Barracuda SATA, 200Gig Maxtor SATA III CD/DVD:LG DVD ROM, NEC 16XDVD+-RW
(\__/) This is Bunny. Put him in your
(='.'=) signature and help him on his way
(")_(") to world domination
fixal0t is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.