wxplorer.exe devouring system resources - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-04-2007, 04:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 575
Send a message via ICQ to Cunjo Send a message via Yahoo to Cunjo
Default wxplorer.exe devouring system resources

I was just playing BF when my connection went to **** and I started getting a 2500ms ping. I quit when it kicked me from the server to find that explorer.exe was using 159MB of RAM and digging into the pagefile (had maxed out my resources)

Any idea how I would fix it?
__________________

__________________
\"I\'ll do it cheap, I\'ll do it fast, or I\'ll do it well. You can only choose two.\"
Cunjo is offline  
Old 12-04-2007, 07:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: wxplorer.exe devouring system resources

Is this the same system you keep having issue with? Didnt you have some other issues with this system? I read about th eDues Ex and that. Have you tried like a Repair install to see if it helps any?
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-04-2007, 10:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 575
Send a message via ICQ to Cunjo Send a message via Yahoo to Cunjo
Default Re: wxplorer.exe devouring system resources

Let me put it this way... it's my system. I own it, hence I will always have issues with it. That's just my luck. Working long hours on it won't fix it, and nor will throwing money or other resources at it. My share of luck says, that if I have it, it breaks. So... there's only so much point in spending more resources on it, be they time or otherwise, since it'll only break again.

I lost the install CD at this point, and I don't plan to buy/pirate/whatever another.

also, typo'd the title, supposed to be explorer.exe
__________________
\"I\'ll do it cheap, I\'ll do it fast, or I\'ll do it well. You can only choose two.\"
Cunjo is offline  
Old 12-05-2007, 12:01 AM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: wxplorer.exe devouring system resources

Well sadly i think the only thing that will help is a repair install. Use EricB method ofusing your i386 folder to create a new CD. If it works that way.

http://www.techist.com/forums/f9/how...-xp-cd-156805/

I am afraid that is the only way to try and start to correct some of these issues.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-05-2007, 12:30 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
SirCyber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: In a yellow Submarine
Posts: 1,113
Send a message via Yahoo to SirCyber
Default Re: wxplorer.exe devouring system resources

I have the same problem... explorer.exe was using anywhere from 83-97% of processor according to task manager... couldn't do anything. going to bookmark that site, the pc I had that issue really could use a repair. thanks for the site, and I'm halfway glad I'm not the only one *btw, I went 2 years without AV or spyware blocker software. 2 months with current gf and one profile will not do anything, mine *which she uses now* will surf the net... that's it*
__________________
EVGA X58 Classified, EVGA GTX 275 CO-OP Edition, Intel Core i7 230@2.68GHz, 1080W Enermax Evolution, 6GB G-Skill DDR3@8-8-8-19

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213
Knowledge is power. Power is nothing if it is not shared.
SirCyber is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to Allocate System resources quad core processors Creedance Overclocking and Modding 7 11-09-2007 03:05 PM
Issue with BF2 on my E510 dykzeulb PC Gaming 8 10-21-2007 04:26 PM
seagate 80gigs failing.. acuariano Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 27 08-27-2007 10:43 PM
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM
User Locked Out of Account....Its Weird Though.... qbbraveheart Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 05-07-2007 09:58 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.