wtf weird (screenshot) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-15-2006, 02:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 22
Default wtf weird (screenshot)



uhhh.....mine is the only account on this computer....

wtf
__________________

Alcohol is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 03:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 325
Default

windows Xp creates a hidden administrative account by default.
if u want to no how to show it i think i can tell you but it probebly isnt needed.
i think you just got a virus or soomething and its messed with it.
try creating another administrative account and fixing it form there
__________________

__________________
Athlon 64 3200+
GigaByte GA K8N-SLI
1GB Corsair Select Value
GigaByte 7300GS
80GB maxtor Hard Disk
Samsung Writemaster DVD-RWDL 16x
Thermaltake mambo case w/ 430 PSU
Windows XP Pro
17\" Proview LCD
mophead740 is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 03:35 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
ATIRAGEPRO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,400
Send a message via AIM to ATIRAGEPRO Send a message via Yahoo to ATIRAGEPRO
Question "Onoz tEh H4x0r5 0n tEh y0uR PC??!1??

If the account u r in is just a wierd name with administrative rights, you might want to try starting up in safe mode (I think it's F8 or something) and see if there is another account that goes by the name of Administrator that you may log in to. .....
__________________


Quote:
Originally posted by bonehelm
WTF ROFLMAO !!!! WTF OMFG LOL !!!! PARDON THE ****KING CAPS IM SO ROFL NOW !!!

I just found out I\'ve been using direct X 8.1 since its out.
He who knows when enough is enough will always have enough... - Lao Tzu
ATIRAGEPRO is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 04:51 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 22
Default

This windows install is pretty fresh and things are starting to run pretty fruity. Seems like it could be virus related. If it is, mcafee can't find it.

All of the sudden I'm getting an svchost.exe error after ever reboot telling me the file can't be found and to check if it's there---which it is.

I don't even know how to restore the privileges to this account from another admin account...I mean it's a **** admin account, it should have all privileges. wtf.

Meanwhile like I said, ****'s running fruity, I'm leaning just towards reformatting.
Alcohol is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 06:03 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,229
Default

I just saw this recently, hadda reformat. It wouldnt let me do anything. Couldn't install programs, couldnt do an online scan. No task manager, no msconfig.
__________________
With all due respect John, I am the head of IT and I have it on good authority. If you type "Google" into Google, you can break the Internet. So please, no one try it, even for a joke.........It's not a laughing matter. You can break the Internet.
Bruce is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 10:41 AM   #6 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

Something is messing with your registry, is this XP Home or XP Pro, because on XP Pro you can check the gpedit.msc from the run button.

XP Home and XP Pro can edit the registry to disable command prompt and task manager.

http://windowsxp.mvps.org/Taskmanager_error.htm
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/555480/en-us
http://windowsxp.mvps.org/disablecmd.htm
__________________

Law is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 02:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

I've had a virus that does this.
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 02:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

just follow warez's guide and see if that helps then let us know if it doesnt and i know just what to do

http://www.techist.com/showthread.ph...hreadid=117351
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 11:16 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Law
Something is messing with your registry, is this XP Home or XP Pro, because on XP Pro you can check the gpedit.msc from the run button.

XP Home and XP Pro can edit the registry to disable command prompt and task manager.

http://windowsxp.mvps.org/Taskmanager_error.htm
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/555480/en-us
http://windowsxp.mvps.org/disablecmd.htm
Xp home.

Quote:
Originally posted by jcortes
just follow warez's guide and see if that helps then let us know if it doesnt and i know just what to do

http://www.techist.com/showthread.ph...hreadid=117351
I think I'm just gonna reformat. Like I said, the install is only a few days old, it's not even really worth doing **** else. I was hopin it would be a 5 sec fix.
Alcohol is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 11:31 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

lol format works too
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.