wtf is this - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-14-2004, 08:36 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 172

If your using a file sharing program, some mpeg files you d/l can have trojans embeded in the code of the mpeg. Then uses WMP to send and recieve data. Thats what I'd suspect.

heavywx is offline  
Old 09-15-2004, 12:01 AM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007

the only thing I can think is that since WMP can access the internet that thgere is some adware or spyware that has placed a small bit of code or a cookie to send out your info upon running. As we know IE is so commonly attacked and has been heavily patched that left WMP unpatched and unprotected and it being a browser unto itself.

jaksback is offline  
Old 09-15-2004, 09:49 AM   #13 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
office politics's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics

whois lookup

OrgName: Microsoft Corp
Address: One Microsoft Way
City: Redmond
StateProv: WA
PostalCode: 98052
Country: US

NetRange: -
NetHandle: NET-207-46-0-0-1
Parent: NET-207-0-0-0-0
NetType: Direct Assignment
NameServer: DNS1.CP.MSFT.NET
NameServer: DNS2.CP.MSFT.NET
NameServer: DNS1.TK.MSFT.NET
NameServer: DNS1.DC.MSFT.NET
NameServer: DNS1.SJ.MSFT.NET
RegDate: 1997-03-31
Updated: 2002-12-05

TechHandle: ZM39-ARIN
TechName: Microsoft
TechPhone: +1-425-936-4200

OrgAbuseHandle: HOTMA-ARIN
OrgAbuseName: Hotmail Abuse
OrgAbusePhone: +1-425-882-8080

OrgAbuseHandle: MSNAB-ARIN
OrgAbuseName: MSN ABUSE
OrgAbusePhone: +1-425-882-8080

OrgAbuseHandle: ABUSE231-ARIN
OrgAbuseName: Abuse
OrgAbusePhone: +1-425-882-8080

OrgNOCHandle: ZM23-ARIN
OrgNOCName: Microsoft Corporation
OrgNOCPhone: +1-425-882-8080

OrgTechHandle: MSFTP-ARIN
OrgTechName: MSFT-POC
OrgTechPhone: +1-425-882-8080
office politics is offline  
Old 09-15-2004, 10:32 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 48
Send a message via AIM to he4rts

omg you are so being hacked its not funny.i would 1:change your ebay password asap. has your ebay password changed?also 2:i would get that crap firewall off your comp in a hot second.try firewall allows nothing.very strange spyware could have done that also quit visiting porn sites.
he4rts is offline  
Old 09-16-2004, 08:39 AM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559

Jetico Personal Firewall
Antivir Personal Edition
Spy Sweeper

these are the 3 programs I reccomend you use to protect your computer
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 09-16-2004, 10:18 AM   #16 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
TheMajor's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177


TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

« Link? | cpu at 100% »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:01 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.