wrong keybord setup...? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-02-2006, 08:52 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 160
Default wrong keybord setup...?

i have a normal, british style keybord with the pound sign above the 3 etc, but for some reason, my computer thinks it is an american keyboard so alot of the buttons do different things. i was just wondering how i changed it back to the british settings. if any1 knows, plz let me know...
__________________

weewun is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 08:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
jbc
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 225
Default

I am going to take a stab at this one, but please correct me if I am wrong. What weewun needs is the drivers for his keyboard. He/she needs to install the drivers for the model keyboard which should take care of the situation.

On a related note - my office has a staff member whose native languege is chineese. Where can I get her a chineese languege keyboard?
__________________

jbc is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 09:22 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default

Hello,
[list=1][*] Start...[*] Control Panel...[*] Regional and Language Options...[*] In the Regional Options Tab: Ensure that English (United Kingdom) is selected under Standards and formats and that United Kingdom is chosed under Location...[*] Click on the Languages Tab...[*] Click on the Details button at the top...[*] Ensure that the Default input language is set to English (United Kingdom) - United Kingdom...[*] In the Installed services section underneeth, make sure that the input language EN English (United Kingdom) exists, and that United Kingdom has been set as the keyboard input language...


[*] If you see another input language, for example EN English (United States) instead, and or US as the keyboard input language, click on the Add button on the right and this window will appear...


[*] ...Select English (United Kingdom) as the Input Language, and then check the Keyboard Layout/IME box and select United Kingdom. Click OK.[*] Once back in the Text Services and Input Languages window, click and remove any remaining services of other languages.[/list=1]
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 12:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 160
Default

cheers for the help alvin... i have my £ sign back!! woo! lol
weewun is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.