Would this work? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-15-2005, 06:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 37
Default Would this work?

My windows xp just got screwed as it doesnt load anymore and safe mode doesnt load either, its caught in a booting loop. If I take out my hard drive, connect it in my friends computer, and copy paste only the windows folder from his harddrive and overwrite that folder on mine, then connect it back to my computer, would it work?
__________________

marcoax is offline  
Old 04-15-2005, 06:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

no it wont. just format your hard drive.
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 04-15-2005, 06:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 37
Default

But why wouldnt it work? Its the same files.
marcoax is offline  
Old 04-15-2005, 07:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 188
Default

Nah... won't work - i can see a crap load of problems. Get your XP CD and try the repair function when booting from the CD.

And for the record - it's not the same. Your computers setup, settings, options ... won't be the same.

Best options, as jcortes put it, just format it.

Good luck.
htcs is offline  
Old 04-15-2005, 07:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Yeah dude, your registry for one thing. Try to run a repair on it, possibly avoid formatiting and losing stuff. Boot from the CD.
Him is offline  
Old 04-15-2005, 09:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 720
Default

Not just the registry, there are about 1000 that would not let it work:
Main that I think of is your hardware.
SkyHi is offline  
Old 04-15-2005, 10:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

hardware.. software.. history.. cache.. settings.. serial #s.. programs in general.. documents.. boot process.. shutdown processes.. any registry edits.. alot of stuff.. id love to see the error messages... if the repair doesn't work.. u could try to just back up the files u want and then format... but i dont even suggest what u had planned..
__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 04-15-2005, 11:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

its just a bad idea period. boot from the cd and repair or format it.
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.