would like to break habit of logging in as admin

Status
Not open for further replies.

sfseals

Solid State Member
I've been running WinXP Pro for several years, and have been blissfully logging in as admin from day one. Since then, I've learned I should not be doing this for security purposes. Additionally, there is no real need for me to log in as admin at all, as I'm not really a power user. So once and for all, I'd like to break myself of the habit.
Probem is, I have everything configured exactly like I like it, and fear I will have to spend hours or days re-installing and reconfiguring all my programs and desktop, and moving files. I have never had a user account, and when I try to set one up, it's like re-installing the OS. I just get a generic desktop, and no access to my programs or files.

Is there a straightforward way to migrate over to a non-admin user account and move all of my programs and settings over as well?

Some programs will not work on an admin account, such as DOS programs.

To get those programs working again, go into the ADMIN account, find the program shortcuts, and drag them to the Limted account's documents folder.

When you log into the limited account, drag those icons to the desktop.

http://www.microsoft.com/resources/...cs/en-us/sysdm_userprofile_copy.mspx?mfr=true

To copy a user profile

You must be logged on as an administrator or a member of the Administrators group in order to complete this procedure. If your computer is connected to a network, network policy settings may also prevent you from completing this procedure.

1. Open System in Control Panel.

2. On the Advanced tab, under User Profiles, click Settings.

3. Under Profiles stored on this computer, click the user profile you want to copy, and then click Copy To.

4. Type the location for the new profile, or click Browse to select the path.

5. To choose a new user, in the Copy To dialog box, click Change.