would 2 gigs be enough? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-17-2006, 03:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to 2fast4u
Default would 2 gigs be enough?

would 2 gig's be enought to install xp pro?
__________________

__________________
2fast4u is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 03:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

XP Pro in itself is about 900MB-1GB install. Roughly. It depends on if you have slipstreamed anything into it or not. I think it was originally 700MB or so to fully install.

So to answer you question....ehhh. It all depends on what you plan on installing and if you are gonna install it all on another drive. If this is your only drive and it has only 2GB then i wouldnt suggest it since you wont be able to install much before you are full.

Hope that helps.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 03:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 507
Default

I doubt that'll be enough...but even if it is, its definetly not recomended...

Is it because 1 of the partitions you have only has this much empty space or this is all you have from the entire hd?
__________________

3.4GHz i5 3570K / Asus P8Z77-V LE / 8 GB RAM / 120 GB SSD / 3 TB HD / 2 TB NAS
AMD Radeon HD 6850 1GB / Cooler Master CM 690 II Advanced / 32" Samsung LCD
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
13" MacBook Air (mid-2012) / 2.0 GHz Core i7 / 256 GB SSD / 8 GB RAM
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Toshiba Satellite M645 / Intel Core i3 2.53GHz / 4 GB RAM / Win 7 Ultimate X64
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Sony VAIO VGN-CS320J / Intel Core 2 Duo 2.1Ghz / 4 GB RAM / Win 7 Ultimate X64
Rawan AbuSalman is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 03:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 28
Default

I think you need a 1.5gig for xp pro...so you would be cutting it pretty close.

You wouldn't be able to load any other apps.
kemo099 is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 03:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 507
Default

As I can see from your specs, you have a 13gb hd...so most likely, you dont have except that 2 gigs of free space...As Makaveli213 said, it all depends on what you are going to install on it (other than the os)

Also, if you are planning on installing XP Pro as a second OS, then I think itll be a little annoying...given your pc specs (p3, 256mb ram...)
If you really want XP, then I would sugest having it as the only OS on your pc...then, youll have some more disk space available...Itll also be a little anoying but itll definetly be better than having it as a second OS and running on a 2gb partition...
__________________

3.4GHz i5 3570K / Asus P8Z77-V LE / 8 GB RAM / 120 GB SSD / 3 TB HD / 2 TB NAS
AMD Radeon HD 6850 1GB / Cooler Master CM 690 II Advanced / 32" Samsung LCD
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
13" MacBook Air (mid-2012) / 2.0 GHz Core i7 / 256 GB SSD / 8 GB RAM
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Toshiba Satellite M645 / Intel Core i3 2.53GHz / 4 GB RAM / Win 7 Ultimate X64
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Sony VAIO VGN-CS320J / Intel Core 2 Duo 2.1Ghz / 4 GB RAM / Win 7 Ultimate X64
Rawan AbuSalman is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 03:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to 2fast4u
Default

no this is only a partition
__________________
2fast4u is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 03:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 507
Default

Do you have on any other partition additional space? Or this is all?
__________________

3.4GHz i5 3570K / Asus P8Z77-V LE / 8 GB RAM / 120 GB SSD / 3 TB HD / 2 TB NAS
AMD Radeon HD 6850 1GB / Cooler Master CM 690 II Advanced / 32" Samsung LCD
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
13" MacBook Air (mid-2012) / 2.0 GHz Core i7 / 256 GB SSD / 8 GB RAM
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Toshiba Satellite M645 / Intel Core i3 2.53GHz / 4 GB RAM / Win 7 Ultimate X64
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Sony VAIO VGN-CS320J / Intel Core 2 Duo 2.1Ghz / 4 GB RAM / Win 7 Ultimate X64
Rawan AbuSalman is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 04:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

i think he is talking about installing Windows XP Professional on one 2-GB hard drive

i think thats impossible, you need at least 4.3 GB to make xp run properly without apps.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 04:14 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to 2fast4u
Default

well someone said that they will give me a hdd but it only has 2 gigs.. so im gonna put that in my computer, put xp on that, and have my other hdd, which is only 12 gigs, and use that for software and all that...
__________________
2fast4u is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 11:06 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

i would install windows 2000, its works just as good, its fairly recent (5 years old) and only takes up 1 gig total.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.