Worth Reinstalling Windows? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-10-2005, 07:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 147
Send a message via AIM to Triple-X
Default Worth Reinstalling Windows?

Right now I have 2 Windows XP Home Editions SP2 installed, and I have the cd for the Windows XP Professional SP2. I know that reinstalling windows takes a while, but is having 2 versions of xp installed at the same time affecting my pc performance or anything like that? So is it worth installing pro? How is pro better than home?

Triple-X is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 08:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher

If you have pro it is pointless to have both on there..Just stick with pro. Pro will only have noticable differences if you are in a network environment. If you use it at home you wouldnt notice any difference.

Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 09:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123

if you're on a network, i would install pro.

pro also has a very nice backup feature as well.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 12-11-2005, 11:10 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 725

Other than lost HD space, there is no disadvantage to having more than one OS on your machine. That said, Pro is the way to go since you have it. In addition to the significant network capabilities, it has a better user management system, and a pretty BLUE bar
AGP won\'t fit in PCI-E... unless you use a really good hammer. ~Trotter
digitaloracle is offline  
Old 12-11-2005, 11:14 AM   #5 (permalink)
Do not Stare at my Avatar
Ste's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,571
Send a message via MSN to Ste

If your going to install pro, theres no reason not to back up information then,

When booting off Pro disk, delete all partitions and reformat whole drive.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-11-2005, 11:44 AM   #6 (permalink)
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123

i dont know your hard drive size, but i would install only ONE xp.

if you THINK you have a virus, then reinstall xp

talldude123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:52 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.