Word 2007. Equations issue. Printing, clear font, etc. Help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jayce

Fully Optimized
I work in a school district. We are currently having an issue. We are deploying new laptops loaded with XP Pro to replace the Macbooks that seem to break down more often than girls I check out when I'm at Hooters. They are preloaded with Office 2007. The math teachers are running into an issue. They want to plug equations in to their worksheets to print out for tests, however, there's 2 issues.

If they open a pre-existing word document that was created in Office 03 or Office 04 (Mac) in Office 07, the equation is grayed out. The fix is to copy/paste all of the 03/04 data to a blank, brand new 07 document. That way it's a fresh clean slate, etc.

When the teachers plug equations in after pasting, it will display on the screen. However, when they hit print, the equations do not print with the rest of the document. It's as if it's a floating layer, like it isn't anchored or something.

How can we get it so equations will display (and print) on pasted 2007 documents?

Note: If teachers open a new Word 2007 Document and they DO NOT paste anything, if they plug in an equation and hit print, it prints out great. But it will not print if they plug the equation into a pasted document.

Hello,

The 'Equation' feature in Microsoft Word 2007 is not compatible with .doc files. Only .docx (the new Word 2007 format) supports the equation feature in Microsoft Word 2007.

To get the equation feature working for older documents, you'll need to open the document and save it in / convert it to the newer Microsoft Word 2007 .docx format. It should fix the problem.