word 2003 - open original copy again - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-24-2005, 12:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default word 2003 - open original copy again

i want to be able to do this. open a document in word 2003 called file.doc. I edit file.doc but want to open the orginal file.doc in a separate window. I want the two files open on my machine to have different data but the same file opened. Is this possible?
__________________

office politics is offline  
Old 05-24-2005, 12:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

yes.
open the file. then just open it again. do this by going through the directory, lets say my documents. do it 2 times and you will have 2 files called file.doc
now edit the 2nd one and there ya go
__________________

__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 05-24-2005, 12:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

doesn't happen. when i try to open the file again, focus is transferred back to the original window.
office politics is offline  
Old 05-24-2005, 01:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

really?
ok open file.doc
then go to file -> save as -> then change the name
then you can open 2 of them

i have one more idea ill test myself then post
__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 05-24-2005, 01:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

Didn't work sorry.
__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 05-24-2005, 08:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

took a little messing around, but I think this is what you need to do. open the file. Then go to file, new. on the taskpad, select "from existing document" and choose the file you just opened. Worked for me, and allows me to edit one, without harming the other. Does rename it to document1 or something, but that should be ok...

Good luck
__________________

Inaris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.