Word 2002 Runtime error - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-12-2006, 08:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 11
Default Word 2002 Runtime error

Every night I have a user who gets an error message everytime she closes out of MS Word. The title of the message is "Microsoft Visual C++ Runtime Library" and the message says "Runtime Error! Program C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office10\winword.exe abnormal program termination" I have seen this first hand and she is not doing anything different to cause this error. I have tried reloading Office, deleting normal.dot, and installing all of the Office updates. Tried reinstalling and udating Adobe 7, I had found some information that Adobe could be causing the problem. She has no plug-ins in office and she doesn't appear to have the Works converter installed. I am stuck, any help would be appreciated.
__________________

dustinl1 is offline  
Old 10-12-2006, 11:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 157
Default

Sounds like you have done your due diligence in troubleshooting

What do the event logs show?
__________________

__________________
Eagles can soar but weasles don\'t get sucked in to jet engines
RyanS is offline  
Old 10-12-2006, 11:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 11
Default

Nothing, the event logs aren't even showing there is a problem. This wouldn't be so bad if it wasn't the PC of the admin assistant to the CEO of our company.
dustinl1 is offline  
Old 10-12-2006, 03:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 11
Default

These are the programs she has installed Windows XP SP2, Adobe Acrobat 7.0.7 Standard, Brother MFL Pro Suite, Office XP, Paperport 8 SE, TrendMicro OfficeScan Client, J2S E Runtime Evironment
dustinl1 is offline  
Old 10-12-2006, 09:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

Is this an upgrade version, like did you upgrade to 2002 from a previous version?

Try and reinstall J2S E Runtime Envirnoment.

And does other computer have TrendMicro OfficeScan on their computers too and it doesn't happen for them?
Law is offline  
Old 10-13-2006, 08:33 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 11
Default

No upgrade, everyone in the company does has Trend Officescan client on their PCs, it is the corporate edition, and no one else seems to have the problem. I will try reinstalling Java Runtime Evironment, thanks.
__________________

dustinl1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.