Word 2000 & XP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-30-2005, 12:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3
Default Word 2000 & XP

Hello everyone,

My MS Word 2000 is no longer compatible with XP Prof. It used to be. Does anyone know if a recent automatic upgrade could have caused the issue? When I try to open Word I now receive the Microsoft Office Word has encountered a problem window. In the details there is a reference to "appcomp". I've tried the repair tool and reinstalled after cleaning the system. Any help is appreciated. Thanks
__________________

Moondancer0 is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 05:54 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

2000 is compatiable with XP Home or Pro. Can you post a clear screen shot?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 08:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Did you do all the office updates at http://office.microsoft.com ?
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 06:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3
Default Word 2000 & XP

Thanks for the replies.

I do have the most recent updates. I'll try to attach an image of the error.

Thanks again!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg details.jpg (49.9 KB, 14 views)
Moondancer0 is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 09:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

So you repaired it and you also uninstalled it then reinstalled it and get the same error message?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 07-01-2005, 08:33 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3
Default Word 2000 & XP

Yes, I tried the repair tool and uninstall and reinstall. I also performed several other recommended resolutions from a three page troubleshooting document I found on MS site. I can start Word if I "start it with the defaults" by using Start/Run and Browsing for the Windword.exe and then click on Open. Then in the Open box type a space followed by /a, so that the Open box command line looks like:
"C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office\WinWord.exe" /a

According to the troubleshooting document this means the issue is due to a bad Registry Data Key or a bad Normal.dot file.) But the resoltions for correcting these did not help. I'm not sure if Word is fully usable opening it with the /a at the end of the Open command. I may try it today. Thanks again, your replies are appreciated!
__________________

Moondancer0 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.