Won't Start - File Corrupt - Urgent - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-07-2005, 09:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 12
Default Won't Start - File Corrupt - Urgent

Hi, I have a problem with my sister's computer... I don't know what she did, but here's what happens when you turn it on:





Can anyone help me fix this?
__________________

CouGaR is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 09:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

insert windows cd, and when u ge to choosing wat type of isntall, choose repair current version of windows.
__________________

__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 10:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 12
Default

Don't have CD, Windows came with the computer.
CouGaR is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 10:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

ul hafta get a copy of windows, cuz ur going to hafta copy those missing files.
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 10:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 12
Default

That file is different for everyone?
CouGaR is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 10:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

when int he bootup process does this happen? Try botting in safe mode 1st, and let us know wat happens.
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 10:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 449
Send a message via AIM to homerj14
Default

its a dll that hides hardware complexities thats the only help i can give ya
__________________
My BF2 account Homerj14
Support our troops...
AIM-House300zx
homerj14 is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 10:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

do a repair install. see my sig for the instructions. You MIGHT loose some programs, but you can reinstall them. You will NOT loose any data.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 10:29 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SHAWN
do a repair install. see my sig for the instructions. You MIGHT loose some programs, but you can reinstall them. You will NOT loose any data.
I already told him to do so, but he doesnt have the cd.
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 10:37 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 12
Default

I had installed Norton GoBack on that computer a while ago, and I just ran it, and I was able to bring it back a few hours and Windows was able to boot. I told my sister to save whatever she wanted, then I'm gonna do a System Restore on it since there's a couple of other problems.

Thanks guys.
__________________

CouGaR is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.