Won't Boot Up - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-06-2004, 11:06 AM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 77
Send a message via AIM to Copper
Default

Thanks Lone Wolf

I did have a gander at that link that you had posted, it look a little to scary. It was more or less mapped out for FAT32 there was another link for accessing the registry if using NTFS but it didn’t really explain how to do it via the recovery console.

I may take the plunge over the weekend if I am sober enough

Your help with this is much appreciated Lone Wolf

Thanks
Copper.
__________________

__________________
Windows XP Professional Version 2002 Service Pack 2
Asrock K7S41GX Motherboard AGP 8X, FSB 400, DDR 400
Intergrated Audio
ATI Radeon 9200SE 128MB
512 DDR RAM DDR333
AMD XP2500 CPU 333 Mhz ( BARTON )
80gb Western Digital SD WD800JB-00JJA0 - 7200rpm Hard Drive
80gb Maxtor 6Y080L0 Plus 9 - 7200rpm Hard Drive
Copper is offline  
Old 08-06-2004, 06:13 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Copper
Thanks Lone Wolf

I did have a gander at that link that you had posted, it look a little to scary. It was more or less mapped out for FAT32 there was another link for accessing the registry if using NTFS but it didn’t really explain how to do it via the recovery console.
No, the separate directions are for accessing the System Volume Information folder only. Everything else is the same Copper.

I understand what you mean however. If one has not used the recovery console commands before, I know the directions in that article can seem a bit daunting. Let's wait for MB or Mike to get their feedback on what would be next possible choice in this matter.
__________________

Lone Wolf is offline  
Old 08-06-2004, 07:22 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 77
Send a message via AIM to Copper
Default

Cheers Lone Wolf.

I took the plunge and pumped all the said info in via the recovery console & it appeared to work a treat.

I know get past the boot up screen and just as i get to the log on screen i get this message, the exact same thing happens in safe mode.



I have never used a password to log on.

I decided to try and reinstall XP Pro over the top again, and i still the same problem exists.

I need an asprin, and i think the PC needs a sledgehammer.

Copper.
__________________
Windows XP Professional Version 2002 Service Pack 2
Asrock K7S41GX Motherboard AGP 8X, FSB 400, DDR 400
Intergrated Audio
ATI Radeon 9200SE 128MB
512 DDR RAM DDR333
AMD XP2500 CPU 333 Mhz ( BARTON )
80gb Western Digital SD WD800JB-00JJA0 - 7200rpm Hard Drive
80gb Maxtor 6Y080L0 Plus 9 - 7200rpm Hard Drive
Copper is offline  
Old 08-09-2004, 11:00 AM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807
Default

Copper, I will PM one of the MODs to see what would be the next best step. I don't want to steer you down the wrong path and make things worse. Hold tight, i'm sure one of them will have some good suggestions.
Lone Wolf is offline  
Old 08-09-2004, 11:08 AM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 77
Send a message via AIM to Copper
Default

Thanks a lot Lone Wolf

Much appreciated

Copper
__________________
Windows XP Professional Version 2002 Service Pack 2
Asrock K7S41GX Motherboard AGP 8X, FSB 400, DDR 400
Intergrated Audio
ATI Radeon 9200SE 128MB
512 DDR RAM DDR333
AMD XP2500 CPU 333 Mhz ( BARTON )
80gb Western Digital SD WD800JB-00JJA0 - 7200rpm Hard Drive
80gb Maxtor 6Y080L0 Plus 9 - 7200rpm Hard Drive
Copper is offline  
Old 08-09-2004, 08:34 PM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 77
Send a message via AIM to Copper
Default

Hi MB

No need for apologies, thanks for posting a reply.

I tried the fixboot & fixmbr done the repair on XP, but I have no idea on how to install SP-1 before the system reboots. I had a look through the link and it dosen’t say (unless I am being thick again) Looks like I am going to have to go for a clean install. Arggggggggggggggggghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.

I may not have solved my problem, but I am still learning loads from you guys on this forum.

Thanks for all the help, much appreciated.
Copper.
__________________
Windows XP Professional Version 2002 Service Pack 2
Asrock K7S41GX Motherboard AGP 8X, FSB 400, DDR 400
Intergrated Audio
ATI Radeon 9200SE 128MB
512 DDR RAM DDR333
AMD XP2500 CPU 333 Mhz ( BARTON )
80gb Western Digital SD WD800JB-00JJA0 - 7200rpm Hard Drive
80gb Maxtor 6Y080L0 Plus 9 - 7200rpm Hard Drive
Copper is offline  
Old 08-10-2004, 12:35 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807
Default

It is only a matter of days before MS releases SP-2 for XP... last I heard it will happen this week sometime. You could wait for SP 2 to come out.
Lone Wolf is offline  
Old 08-11-2004, 10:10 AM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807
Default

Drats! I almost forgot about this. Hey Copper if you're still reading the thread, give this a try:

Boot up w/ the XP CD. Go ahead and go through the installation process... at some point, it will ask you if you want to do a new installation or "Fix this installation of XP". Choose the latter and the setup will recognize the installation that's on there now. Select the partition (or directory) that it shows and let XP do it's thing.

I completely forgot about this option, but now that you've come this far, I would hate for you to give up and do a fresh install.
Lone Wolf is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 05:10 PM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 77
Send a message via AIM to Copper
Default

Hi Lone Wolf.

I did try that earlier on, it was after that i started to get the prompt

just before i hit the login screen. Same would happen in Safe Mode.

I think that was what Microbell was saying about the problem being in SP-1.

No matter if i try and repair Windows, it's the SP-1 thats is tits up, but i still cant get round it.

So my solution is ..................................
Ive decided to go for a new PC, a rebuild, it's well over due anyway, so i am just seeing what the best to go for at the moment.

But as i said, thanks a lot for all the replies and help, it was much appreciated.

Copper
__________________

__________________
Windows XP Professional Version 2002 Service Pack 2
Asrock K7S41GX Motherboard AGP 8X, FSB 400, DDR 400
Intergrated Audio
ATI Radeon 9200SE 128MB
512 DDR RAM DDR333
AMD XP2500 CPU 333 Mhz ( BARTON )
80gb Western Digital SD WD800JB-00JJA0 - 7200rpm Hard Drive
80gb Maxtor 6Y080L0 Plus 9 - 7200rpm Hard Drive
Copper is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.