WnetEnumPasswords Error Message - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-12-2004, 10:58 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 13
Default WnetEnumPasswords Error Message

I downloaded this file and when I clicked on it this error message popped up:

"The procedure entry point WNetEnumCachedPasswords could not be located in the dynamic link library MPR.dll.”

Im running Windows XP-Pro. Now my question is, is the error really coming from the applications end or is it the Operating System that is causing this type of error?

I really hope that this fix is an easy one.

thx
__________________

wardialer is offline  
Old 04-12-2004, 12:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 175
Default

what is it you downloaded. Need specifics, There are different reaosn you can get this erro, but it depends on the program or files you downloaded.
__________________

__________________
Life doesn\'t always go how you want it, but it sure goes the way that you make it....
asupertech is offline  
Old 04-12-2004, 04:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 13
Default

Its called Winpulse2.exe file. It came with its own zip folder.

Now is it the operating system's error or the executable file is corrupted?
wardialer is offline  
Old 04-12-2004, 05:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 175
Default

Looks like it is a comon issue with winpulse on XP.

there are a few other programs out there that casue this issue to pop up. corel Draw, Some office applications,

In some cases, an incorrect version of the file MAPI32.DLL was installed during the installation of said program. To correct this problem, perform the following steps:
Switch to your X:\I386 directory, where "X" is the location of your Windows source files.

Type the command
EXPAND MAPI32.DL_ C:\WINNT\SYSTEM32\MAPI32.DLL

Restart the computer.

try that.

From winpulses web site: http://www.holesoft.com/wp2/index.htm
"Winpulse2 is still beta"
which means, expect errors... :-)

what are you planning on using this program for, I am unconvinced of its importance....as compared to the isues at hand.
__________________
Life doesn\'t always go how you want it, but it sure goes the way that you make it....
asupertech is offline  
Old 04-12-2004, 07:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 13
Default

Ok,

I dont quite get it.

Where do I have to type the command in?

So is the file actually corrupted????
wardialer is offline  
Old 04-12-2004, 07:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 13
Default

I have WinXP so where would I go to? Is it System32 directory/I386???

Please explain. Sorry about the double replies.
wardialer is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 02:05 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 175
Default

the file MAY be corrupt from the installation of the program.

the I386 folder refers to the folder in which Winxp was installed from. it will either be on your hard drive. default is C:\I386

if not then on the Winxp INstallation CD that came with your computer. In that case it woudl be CD Drive letter:\I386

Like i said it MAY help, it may not...
__________________
Life doesn\'t always go how you want it, but it sure goes the way that you make it....
asupertech is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 10:52 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 13
Default

I did some and alot of Googling on this matter but I cant remember the link.

Its Microsofts Windows library file MPR.DLL, which stands for Multiple Provider Route. One of the undocumented functions of this library is WNetEnumCachedPasswords, which returns passwords. It is dangerous as it sounds in the wrong hands, such as virus writers, and Microsoft long ago patched this library to no longer return this information.

So there, thats hopefully the anwser. Theres not much search results on this matter, but I tried my best.

Looks like theres no fix on this esp. for WinXP.
wardialer is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 12:07 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 175
Default

yeah not too much at all, i was searchign also and came up with vry little.

A large % pointed towards virus issues with XP.

sometimes there just is not enough information....

you can also try reapplying the Service Pack you have running on you desktop. you shoudl be running SP1.

Try this link it should bring you there.
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...DisplayLang=en


if not go to microsoft.com
on the left click downloads.
search for WINxp SP1.

run the program and install the Service pack.
try that first.
__________________
Life doesn\'t always go how you want it, but it sure goes the way that you make it....
asupertech is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 04:20 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 13
Default

So Yes or NO?

Is the file that I downloaded corrupted or not. Meaning is the problem arising from the application files or the Operating System?
__________________

wardialer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.