Wn XP and Acer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-19-2006, 07:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 161
Default Wn XP and Acer


I have acer and win xp. my video display is terrible. its grainy and looks like you are looking at a negative or colored in two tones display.

how do i change this to actually get a good video display

(video=as in any videos i pull up on the net-fitness or yahoo news etc)

i have acer management etc

thank you

mayaseattle is offline  
Old 11-19-2006, 08:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 438

right click>settings>display do you have it on 32bit or 16?Acer is really a poor quality monitor in the first place, sorry. Do you have a video card if so what kind> Without a video card and poor onboard video plus a low quality monitor= a poor display of video plain and simple.

Q6600@ 3.0ghz
eVGA 680i A1
4x1gb Mushkin DDR2 800
2x8800gt xFx
Coolermaster Stacker 830
an51r is offline  
Old 11-19-2006, 09:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 161

i see..i will try that..i upgraded my media player and it seems to be working better..still al little grainy but hey its getting there

didnt know acer had such bad monitors

every since i have bought this Acer, its been nothing but trouble
mayaseattle is offline  
Old 11-20-2006, 12:17 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Jorsoft's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581

That'll happen. I'm really not a fan of their products, you kind of get what you pay for with them imo.
I'd recommend changing the resolution, color depth, etc. and seeing what that does for you. Also, play around with some of the monitor settings such as Brightness/Sharpness/Contrast and seeing if that helps at all.
There's also the possibility that the monitor cable you're using is bad, try testing it with another one if you can just in case.
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 11-20-2006, 09:53 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
fixal0t's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 246

I'd also recommend going to Acer's site and see if they have a driver for the monitor (yes, it happens sometimes)
Also check the manufacturer's site for your video card (or motherboard, for on-board graphics) to see if there's updated drivers.
Case:NZXT Trinity Silver PSU:Apevia Aspire 500W UV Green Motherboard:Asus A8N-SLI CPU:AMD Athlon 64 3500 CPU Cooler:Zalman CNPS7700-Cu Video:2x eVga nVidia GeForce 6800XT (256MB DDR) RAM:2Gig (4x512 Corsair TwinX dual channel) HDD:160Gig Seagate Barracuda SATA, 200Gig Maxtor SATA III CD/DVD:LG DVD ROM, NEC 16XDVD+-RW
(\__/) This is Bunny. Put him in your
(='.'=) signature and help him on his way
(")_(") to world domination
fixal0t is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:26 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.