wmplayer.exe process going loco! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-01-2006, 07:03 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 41
Exclamation wmplayer.exe process going loco!

I have just reinstalled windows xp and have found that when I play some music with windows media player after a minute or so the player starts to use loads of cpu (98) and the memory use keeps growing (98,000 KB +) (I looked in task manager to see this). I have virus / spyware scanned by system with nothing found and windows is fully updated. I also tried reinstalling again with no better results. Can anyone help me solve this problem?
__________________

__________________
[size=0.5]CPU: AMD Athlon 64 3000 Socket 754
Mobo: MSI K8T Neo
Memory: Cosair value select 2 X 512MB PC3200 CAS 2.5
HD: 2x 80GB SATA Seagate Barracuda 7200 in Raid 0
Video: Leadtek Geforce 6800 GT
Speakers: Logitech z640 [/size]
gamer444 is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 07:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

is it version 10?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 08:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 41
Default

Yep. I havnt a clue whats wrong with it, as im fully updated and virus free. I read something about searching for other instances of "wmplayer.exe" and deleting them but im not sure if there should be other wmplayer.exe's other than in programme files.
__________________
[size=0.5]CPU: AMD Athlon 64 3000 Socket 754
Mobo: MSI K8T Neo
Memory: Cosair value select 2 X 512MB PC3200 CAS 2.5
HD: 2x 80GB SATA Seagate Barracuda 7200 in Raid 0
Video: Leadtek Geforce 6800 GT
Speakers: Logitech z640 [/size]
gamer444 is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 11:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

have you tried getting rid of visualizations? those pig up on memory.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 04:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 720
Default

What are your computer specs?

-Steve
SkyHi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.