WMP problems with video duration - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-16-2006, 02:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Default WMP problems with video duration

Hello all

I am having a problem with Windows Media Player. I open a video, and it displays the duration wrong. By this I mean for example a video I know is a complete download that should be 30:00 minutes long displays in WMP as 1:30. So when WMP reaches 1:30 it pauses play (but is still playing the audio for the full 30:00) I can rewind and it will go to a point in the video that I know is beyond 1:30 but will display around 0:45 and then quit again at 1:30. What is more odd is that some vids are completely unaffected, while others are totally messed up. It is also happening to old downloads I know worked properly before.

Please note that 30:00 and 1:30 is just an example; as some vids should be 20min but display 2:46. Another vid should display 16:39 but says its 3:06 and so on. So there seems to be no real pattern to the error.

I was running WMP 9 when this was happening, when it started happening I updated to WMP 10 to see if it would fix it and it did not.

I am running windows XP pro 2002 with servise pack 2 with all updates. W#ith the latest version of WMP version: 10.00.00.3646

I don't remember installing anything at the time the error started occuring, my virus software is up to date. I'm stumped.

Also please note. I am not a complete idiot when it comes to computors, but I am also not an expert. So don't get too technical when you explain things. Or explain things in detail, right down to pushing the "any key"
__________________

TboneMcGraw is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 02:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

do the videos play in another media player like quicktime, divx, ect.. also is it any certain file type that it does this with?
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 04:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Default

It seems both WMW's, mpeg's and mpg's are all affected but not every one is, some will work while others are affected.

The only other player I have is quicktime so I tried opening the affected files with QT and the same problem occurs. Should I download a different player, and try? if so Do you recomend any I'm not a 'realplayer' fan. I also dislike winamps video playback features.
TboneMcGraw is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 09:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 150
Send a message via AIM to fjf314
Default

If you're looking for another video player to test them in, I would check out VLC. It's a great video player, so if you have the same problems with it as you did with WMP, then it might just be the video files themselves, rather than the player.
__________________
There are 10 kinds of people in the world, those who understand binary and those who don\'t.
fjf314 is offline  
Old 08-17-2006, 01:43 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

i suggest just using Divx at www.divx.com it will also give you the codec for AVI files. test the videos with that and let us know it could be a virus or malware that effects those files try running warez's guide.
http://www.techist.com/showthread.ph...hreadid=117351
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-17-2006, 02:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Well I gave VLC a try and tried all the video's. They work! without any problems. Videos that should be 5:00 are 5:00. Vids that should be 27.56 are.

To: jcortes

I thought about the possibility of a virus. I do remember now getting a "trojan downloader" a while back. That came from a P2P. AVG did clean it but it may have done some damage before it was cleaned. How could I fix WMP? I know its not as simple as uninstalling and reinstalling, because the registry is still there. But I dont know enough to mess with the registry. Besides I allready updated to WMP 10 and that did squat.




BTW thank you all for helping
TboneMcGraw is offline  
Old 08-17-2006, 02:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

try warez's guide first to see if that helps.

http://www.techist.com/showthread.ph...hreadid=117351
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 12:00 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 150
Send a message via AIM to fjf314
Default

Glad I could help. Now hopefully Warez's guide will allow you to get WMP working properly again.
__________________

__________________
There are 10 kinds of people in the world, those who understand binary and those who don\'t.
fjf314 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.