WMP crashes when I try to play a DVD - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-11-2005, 01:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default WMP crashes when I try to play a DVD

I'm at work and I brought in some DVD backups to watch during downtime. I have the Intervideo XPack on Windows Media Player, so I have the ability to watch DVD's. Weird thing, is that it keeps crashing when I try to watch one of the files. It usually works, but they are crashing on my laptop AND my work computer (both of which I have admin privileges). Any idea why? These did work at one point, just a few days ago, and no virus's or spyware or anything else malicious. Whose got some input?

EDIT: There is no encryption on these.
__________________

Him is offline  
Old 08-11-2005, 02:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

when they crash, do they just lock up? or do they cause a reboot?
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 08-11-2005, 03:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

WMP crashes, not windows. It says "Windows Media Player has encountered an error and needs to be shut down... blah blah blah... Send error report... blah blah blah.... Dont send error report" And I click dont send and WMP shuts off.

I was just reading some of those Computer Stupidities and now I'm afraid I sound like one of them.
Him is offline  
Old 08-11-2005, 04:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

do you have one of those new nvidia card that seem to don't play movie right when your resolution is set higher than 1024 X 768?

also try using a media player other than intervideo. years ago they didn't play unencrypted dvds. but that made everybody buy power dvd who did. when they (intervideo) almost went out of business, they change their stance on unencrypted dvds
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 08-11-2005, 04:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Nah, this is on two computers (hope nothings wrong with the files). No new NVidia cards. Since they are files and not the actual disc, I cannot use PowerDVD for them (thats what I have) but i have WinDVD at home and I will try that.
Him is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.