wiping out a drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-03-2005, 06:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3
Default wiping out a drive

I am donating old computers to a senior center. I have removed the drives, and installed them as slaves on a working computer. I used software like cyberscrub and stompsoft file shredder to totally clean them. On one drive , my personal documents are not deleting. The reason is that they may be write protected (they weren't) or that some application is currently using them - not! I tried multiple times, rebooting, safe mode, same files are stuck. I even held the drive next to a large speaker magnet. How can I wipe out this drive?
__________________

passline is offline  
Old 12-03-2005, 06:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

killdisk
partition magic
good old manual format - do multi times


Of course you should do this in dos with windows not loaded
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 12-03-2005, 06:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3
Default

I tried formatting also. I remember right clicking on the drive and hitting format. DOn't rember what the rejection was, but it didn't work either.
passline is offline  
Old 12-03-2005, 06:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Tyler, I just re-read your post. Would it make a difference if I went to a DOS prompt and did this as opposed to what I already did in windows?
passline is offline  
Old 12-03-2005, 06:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Because it will not work running windows... It must be done while Windows is not running.

Get yourself a floppy of killdisk. Free and powerfull. Or you may grab a 98 boot disc or use your OS Install CD.


These are free and format it one time only and if you are trying to hide anything your data can still be recovered so rinse and repeat 7 times because that is the standard.


Edit: linky to killdisk
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.