WinXpOS/Harddrive problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-24-2007, 02:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2
Default WinXpOS/Harddrive problem

I got an HP P3 800Mhz (free, salvage) it didn't have a harddrive nor a factory restore disk but has a COA sticker for windows Me and i installed a 250Gig harddrive (its the only one i had available), so the question is how do i retrieve Windows Me without having to purchase a full version of Me OS?

Second issue, for the time being i installed Windows Xp (30day trial version thing, 'i think its an upgrade' not registered yet) to verify that the computer works. and it did. The OS installation went through, but when i rebooted the system and all the hardware was detected and the windows xp screen came up (where its loading), afterwards the screen just goes black (no picture). The monitor is working. So what would more likely to be the problem? i'm thinking its the large HD, or its configuration? any ideas?

new3tech4 is offline  
Old 05-24-2007, 02:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
KSoD's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: WinXpOS/Harddrive problem

HDD is the problem. Back then the HDD capacity was maxed out at 130GB. So having a 250GB in there is adversly affecting your system. Have to update the BIOS. If there is even one available.

As for ME..well you can download it. It is considered abandonware and is freely shared now. But you are better off sticking with XP. ME was the worst OS EVER released.

I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 11:12 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2
Default Re: WinXpOS/Harddrive problem

Ok, i had some advise from another source which advised that i change the HDD settings from LBA to large and reboot the system. That didn't work. So i did a fresh installation with those setting (large), plus i partitioned the drive to use 120GB and it still didn't work. I haven't tried another HDD, (which i'm thinking is bad). So before i swap another harddrive, Any suggestions?
new3tech4 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internet Connection Problem, Every room has connection except mine foskey Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 7 05-23-2007 11:36 PM
Dhcp leasing problem Kloppstock Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 12 05-13-2007 06:13 PM
cant find the problem... Jhill1 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 13 05-07-2007 03:51 PM
Chronic Rebooting Problem AND_YOU_ARE Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-24-2007 05:04 PM
Hardware problem fufonzo Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-09-2007 09:38 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:08 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.