WinXP Won't Start - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-17-2004, 07:36 PM   #11 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

umm, you cannot go to safe mode from your bios. you have to press F8 before the blue/greem xp loading bar appears. But your XP is ****ed up so you got a problem.

Did you try system restore (F2) from XP disc?
You can also enter the recovery console after booting from ur XP disc ("R") and type "chkdsk /r" to do a scandisk

or type sfc /scannow to search for replaced or corrupted system files.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-17-2004, 07:38 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 595
Send a message via AIM to Roshi229 Send a message via Yahoo to Roshi229
Default

safe mode is not managed by the bios, therefore you won't be able to get into safemode through the bios. sorry.
there should be an option somewhere on that blue screen to restore windows, but this is starting to sound like you're mbr is messed up
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/q69013/
read over this article and see if it helps.
__________________

__________________
http://www.kbdigisol.com

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search first, ask later!\"></form>
powered by emily .
Roshi229 is offline  
Old 12-17-2004, 07:56 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 333
Default

Using the XP CD, I selected the option to do a recovery (keep in mind this is a CD from another computer,) It came back with could not find files on that drive and showed the C drive. I switched to the D drive and ran CHKDSK which came back with the volume appears to contain one or more errors that are not recoverable. I am trying the other commands. I don't know if the system restore discs would help at this point. Since I will be able to have them next week, I will try them and if they don't work, try reformatting hard drive and install a brand new WinXP.. Any other suggestions.
__________________
3 different OS, so yep I\'m confused.
m3incorp is offline  
Old 12-17-2004, 08:14 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 264
Send a message via AIM to Rizinc4
Default

Use DOS to format your hard drive... when you boot your machine press F8 until a screen loads with the option to run Command Prompt Only, select this and hit enter. Now you should be able to type, simply type format c:. It will prompt you saying you are about to lose all of your data, just say "Y" and continue. When that is finished pop your XP disk in and let your machine reboot.
Rizinc4 is offline  
Old 12-17-2004, 08:23 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 333
Default

It won't let me boot in to DOS mode. I can hold the F8 key forever and the only thing that I get is: Disk boot failure, Insert System disk and press enter.
__________________
3 different OS, so yep I\'m confused.
m3incorp is offline  
Old 12-17-2004, 08:56 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 333
Default

I think that I will install the hd in my computer in slave mode to see if any files can be read on it.
__________________
3 different OS, so yep I\'m confused.
m3incorp is offline  
Old 12-17-2004, 09:00 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 595
Send a message via AIM to Roshi229 Send a message via Yahoo to Roshi229
Default

Quote:
Disk boot failure, Insert System disk and press enter
take the flopy out of the drive j/k


good call on slaving the disk, just be careful it's clean, don't want a virus...
i'm convincing myself that your partition tables are screwy, or the mbr is destroyed...
let us know how it goes with the slave drive
__________________
http://www.kbdigisol.com

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search first, ask later!\"></form>
powered by emily .
Roshi229 is offline  
Old 12-17-2004, 09:58 PM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 333
Default

OK, now have the drive in the computer that I am currently on. It shows up in windows explorer as Presario_rp as the D Drive. Funny thing is that the only folder in it is a Recovery folder that does not open.
__________________
3 different OS, so yep I\'m confused.
m3incorp is offline  
Old 12-17-2004, 10:02 PM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 333
Default

Is it possible for me to format it while it is in this computer? Or should I just wait until I get my hands on the recovery cds from the computer that it came out of and restore it in that computer?
__________________
3 different OS, so yep I\'m confused.
m3incorp is offline  
Old 12-17-2004, 10:23 PM   #20 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

you can format wherever u want, whenever you want.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.