WinXP SP3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-07-2006, 12:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 168
Default WinXP SP3

I am using wiXP SP1, and going to upgrade it; can anyone tell me if winXP SP3 is available?
__________________

kwokwai is offline  
Old 09-07-2006, 01:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Windows XP SP3 is not available, nor thought of yet by Microsoft. The only service pack that is highly recommended is Service Pack 2. It may be 2 years old, but it's still very safe to use over Service Pack 1.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 09-07-2006, 01:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 168
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by talldude123
Windows XP SP3 is not available, nor thought of yet by Microsoft. The only service pack that is highly recommended is Service Pack 2. It may be 2 years old, but it's still very safe to use over Service Pack 1.
I purchased a new PC from HP two days ago, the PC has XP Pro SP2 installed, and I have also got another 1 yr old PC with SP2 installed.
I didn't do any Windows update to this 1 yr old PC.
Could you tell me which of the SP2 versions gets more bugs fixed and safer?
kwokwai is offline  
Old 09-07-2006, 01:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Sp2 is just 1 patch. It is the same no matter which version. It all depends on if you do the updates or not. Since SP2 was released in June 2 years ago no matter what if you dont do any updates it will be the same no matter what.

But when you buy a new PC it will have the updates done to the time the PC was built. So the machine you bought 2 days ago will have more bugs fixed and be safer since it has had updates done to it.

But the machine that you have not done any updates to could be even saafer. All you have to do is go to windows update and update it. Then it would be even more safe.

BTW SP 3 is not out. It is just in the Beta stages right now. It wont be out till after Vista gets released next year.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-07-2006, 02:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 168
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Makaveli213
...
But the machine that you have not done any updates to could be even saafer. ..
Did you mean my windows may contain more bugs after it has an update from Microsoft?
kwokwai is offline  
Old 09-07-2006, 02:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default

Some bugs are designed to exploit SP2 and they won't do diddly if you don't have it. But when you get SP2, you need to get all the rest of the updates to patch the holes SP2 opens up. Make sense? I manage nearly a hundred PC's all of which run XP. Supposedly, they are auto updated by corporate. NOT! The ones that haven't been updated since they were installed have fewer problems than the newer ones. But, since corporate now and then rolls out an update, that creates problems for the machines that don't have current MS fixes. SO, since auto update is FUBAR'd I have to go to each one and log in and get the updates. How much fun is that? Thank GOD for VPN or I would be living here till it's done.
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 09-07-2006, 02:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 168
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by superdave1984
Some bugs are designed to exploit SP2 and they won't do diddly if you don't have it. But when you get SP2, you need to get all the rest of the updates to patch the holes SP2 opens up. Make sense? I manage nearly a hundred PC's all of which run XP. Supposedly, they are auto updated by corporate. NOT! The ones that haven't been updated since they were installed have fewer problems than the newer ones. But, since corporate now and then rolls out an update, that creates problems for the machines that don't have current MS fixes. SO, since auto update is FUBAR'd I have to go to each one and log in and get the updates. How much fun is that? Thank GOD for VPN or I would be living here till it's done.
How can I stop my XP from automatic update?
Please help!
kwokwai is offline  
Old 09-07-2006, 02:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Microsoft says that SP3 will be released in 2007 sometime. But they said Vista would be released in 2006, and where is it? I don't see it in Best Buy.

http://www.microsoft.com/windows/lif...vicepacks.mspx
talldude123 is offline  
Old 09-07-2006, 02:46 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by kwokwai
How can I stop my XP from automatic update?
Please help!

Start -> Control Panel -> Automatic Updates -> Turn Off Automatic Updates.

You can also tell it to notify you which updates are available, or download the updates, and let you selectively install certain updates.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 09-07-2006, 04:04 PM   #10 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

I have auto updates on and i have never, NEVER had a issue with any of the updates released. Wehn M$ releases updates yes there are some people who do ahve some issues. But if you think aobut it over 30 MILLION people use the software. It is used different on every machine.

Therefor you can never release a patch that would work on every system. It is advised to update to patch the holes that are discovered. Not all vunerabilties were opened up by SP2. In fact some of the more serious ones are known issues from Windows 95 that still affect todays systems.

If you keep your system patched you will run into less problems and or run the risk of being invaded. The best practice is to make sure you use a good firewall and anti virus. But even then things can happen.

@talldude M$ said that the Vista Business would be released in Nov while it would be available to the Public in Jan. We are only in Sept therefor you still have a few months before it hits public.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.