WinXP shutdown causing probs with software - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-21-2004, 11:21 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3
Question WinXP shutdown causing probs with software

Hi,
ive been having a bit of trouble with WinXp (sp1) when i shut down the pc. it sems to cause all my software to shut down without saving their settings (like zonealarm and norton av) which means i have to keep telling zonealarm which progs i want on the net etc... It's like windows is shutting down too fast or something, or just ending everything all of a sudden. Does anyone know anything about this prob and how to fix it please?

thanks
__________________

burgerjim is offline  
Old 01-21-2004, 11:58 AM   #2 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Try setting up a few sites in zonealarm and then exit zone alarm and go back into it. Are the sites still there? If they are, then try shutting down the PC and restart it. After ZoneAlarm starts, are the sites still there?
What sort of settings for Norton AV are you losing?

-Mike
__________________

mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 01-21-2004, 01:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 303
Send a message via AIM to T1junkie
Default

that doesn't sound like an OS problem
it sound like the application isn't saving itself when it executes the close function
__________________
IBM/Lenovo T43 2687DSU
Pentium M 2.0Ghz
1024 MB (DDR2 SDRAM)
80 GB Ultra ATA, 5400 RPM
14.1\" LCD
Windows XP Pro
DVD-R
64MB ATI MOBILITY RADEON X300
Integrated 802.11A/B/G, Bluetooth, 10/100/1000 Eth.
T1junkie is offline  
Old 01-21-2004, 02:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3
Default

the only thing thats making any trouble is zonealarm, as it keeps forgetting everything. i tried sutting it down and then back up again, and the settings were what i wanted them to be. it seems like whenever i change anything windows shuts down too fast so that zonealarm doesnt get the chance to save itself. with norton the only probs are that i get messages saying that the different little components are not ending (so that winxp will do it itself in a few seconds). i think it doesnt get a quick enough response and then just decides to kill whatever is in memory. ive noticed a similar thing with windows messenger too. any ideas?
burgerjim is offline  
Old 01-21-2004, 06:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Try this link

-Mike
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 01-21-2004, 07:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 415
Default

alright instead of starting a new thread im kinda having similar probems, but mine is that windows hangs on start up and shut down for some reason and it doesnt do it all the time and when it does its not always the same amount of time it hangs, any ideas. like on the log in screen i type my password and it sits there and says loading settings or whatever it says, and then all of a sudden it decides to start loading, same with the shut down screen it sits on the windows is shutting down way longer than it used to. i think it all started when i installed nod32 which is now uninstalled. like i said it does it about 85% of the time and the rest it acts completely normal. somebody help me, its really annoying
__________________
Fear is nothing but the anticipation of pain, be it physical, mental, spiritual or emotional.
specs.
Athlon XP 2200+ oc\'ed @ 1.93ghz
MSI ms-6738
768mb ddr2100
Nvidia mx420 :(
60gig maxtor 7200rpm
Dual boot with Mandrake 10.0 and Win XP Pro sp2
neversleeps is offline  
Old 01-21-2004, 07:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

http://www.oreillynet.com/pub/a/netw...xphacks_chap1/

I never had a concern at startup but I did try disabling the clearing of the pagefile on shutdown and it's about 20 seconds faster shutting down now.
Also, Defrag, Defrag, Defrag......DiskKeeper works GREAT!

-Mike
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 01-22-2004, 08:16 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3
Default

Mike, to make things easier for myself i downloaded cacheman and made the shut down process a bit longer, all is sorted.

Thanks very very much. :-)
burgerjim is offline  
Old 01-22-2004, 09:06 AM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 129
Send a message via Yahoo to param4u
Default

learned couple of things - thanx to mike!
param4u is offline  
Old 01-22-2004, 04:15 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 73
Default

You can also try to disable the fast shutdown for windows XP. I have read that some computers have problems with the fast shutdown feature in windows xp. Try that and see if that works for you.
__________________

mitschej is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.