WinXP reinstall -- how do I get all of my programs to work again? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-30-2005, 09:09 AM   #1 (permalink)
cil
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1
Default WinXP reinstall -- how do I get all of my programs to work again?

Hi all,

I was having "terminal" problems with my computer (pun intended) and found that, after trying almost everything, the only viable fix for me short of reformatting the HD was to reinstall WinXP Pro (SP2). Unfortunately, the computer would not stay up long enough for me to formally save files and settings. I reinstalled and the computer worked again. However, I can no longer access all of my programs that are installed on the HD. I have successfully rebuilt my Desktop, which was easy...I just moved my old Admin/Desktop files over to the new Files and Settings folder. No prob. All programs there work fine now. But my very numerous programs are not listed on the Start tab and when I click on the exact .exe file, it will not open. Eudora is especially bad because it tells me to go to the command line (which I've tried) and that it won't open with an attachment.

I would like the easiest solution to putting my programs back on the Start tab and have them work again (short of reinstalling all of them which would take a couple of weeks IF I can find all the info for them). Should I mess with environment variables? Or is there an easier way?

Thank you all so much in advance for any help you can give.

--Cil
__________________

cil is offline  
Old 10-30-2005, 11:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

So you did a Repair on your Windows XP Partition...?

Unfortunately, when you do a repair...registry values are replaced and restored with the factory default values...basically rendering your installed programs useless.

You'll have to re-install your programs .
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 10-30-2005, 12:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

A repair install doesnt take your registry back to default. I have done it several times on my machine and was still able to run my application. I think cil just inserted the XP disc and re-install XP without any format, just leave the file system the way it is. At least thats what i get out of it. In that case it would be a fresh registry and wouldnt be able to run your applications.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.