WinXP - program and shortcut problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-27-2006, 04:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Default WinXP - program and shortcut problem

Im not sure why this has happened, as I was not the last one to use the pc. But everytime i boot the pc a xp generated pop up comes up with unreadable characters and after clicking ok (because the x doesnt get rid of it) xp starts up but all shortcuts on the desktop and in the start menu are not assigned to their programmes. Anyone know why this could've happened or how i can go about fixing it.

Thanks in advance.

jDot
__________________

jdot is offline  
Old 08-27-2006, 04:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

sounds like it could be a virus or malware so go through warez's guide before trying anything else.

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=119852
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-27-2006, 07:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Default

hey thanks jcortes, while goin through the guide I've noticed that I haven't got access to the internet as no icons appear in the taskbar apart from the time. So I was unable to download the programs suggested. I d/l them on my laptop and transfered them over but I cannot run applications either they have that misc type of icon like its not associated to anything.

I ran the programs I already had on there (i.e ad-aware, spybot n ccleaner) but no change.

Any ideas on how to run the install files? Or methods..
jdot is offline  
Old 08-27-2006, 07:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

i hate to suggest this but it really seems like there is alot wrong. would you be willing to format or is that out of the question?
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 11:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Im 50/50 about formatting it, cause its got all the fams stuff on it. I got the programmes to run but nothings showed up being infected? Do you know whats gone wrong with it?

Thanks..
jdot is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 12:11 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Is there a CD or DVD burner on that PC?

You could backup everything and reformat, and everything will be on a disc for safekeeping.

And if you don't have a CD-RW drive, a memory stick runs about $40.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.