winxp pro sp2 install problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-20-2005, 10:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 11
Default winxp pro sp2 install problems

I recently reformatted due to a virus and whenever I try to install windows xp professional with service pack 2 it will get an error at 85% at whatever file it is on. I have tried 3 different discs due to it saying that it may be a problem with the disc and every time the error happens at 85%. Is there any possibility that, since I have old cd drives, it can't read the file? Because my last resort before bringing it into a store to get it fixed was to change the cd-rom drive to a newer one. I have tried almost everything and am getting annoyed at the time it takes to format then get an error installing the files and always getting stuck. I usually end up with the blue screen of death after skipping some files since they give me that option. Thanks ahead of time.
__________________

Killermonk is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 10:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

You said you tried 3 different disks ? Did you format each time ?
Did you "Quick" format or regular. It could be an error copying file to HDD. Do the normal format and see what happens.
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 10:36 AM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Either that or make sure that you dont ahve any USB devices installed. I had that once long ago with my Vista install.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 10:36 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 11
Default

Each time I formatted using the regular NTFS format.
Killermonk is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 10:37 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 439
Default

It sounds like a hard drive problem. Had a similiar issue with a dell machine I worked on a couple of weeks ago. I would say it's more likely the HDD than the cd-rom, but try replacing both (not at the same time though).
__________________
\"I have many layer-eight problems in my life, including myself.\"
Obtruse_Man4 is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 10:42 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 11
Default

I have tried installed windows one time on each of my hard drives so I don't know if that would be the problem. Didn't work on any of the 3. And how would I make sure no USB devices are installed?
Killermonk is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 12:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Just unplug them from the back is what i meant to say. Sorry if i confused you.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 12:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

You can yank that HDD out and put it as a slave in another machine and try a 3rd party disk managment tool...
or, just throw it out the window. lol j/k
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 05:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 11
Default

what im gonna try doing is unpluggin all my hdd but the main and installing then. If that doesnt work I'm gonna try changing it to slave and unplugging it while trying to install on a different hdd. I should just throw it out the window if it doesnt work its only an old 20gb drive.
Killermonk is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 05:14 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Delete the partition with a windows 98 bootdisk, creat a new one and then format it
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.