Winxp key algorithm - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-16-2005, 02:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 29
Send a message via Yahoo to coolted
Default Winxp key algorithm

I am wanting to know if anyone knows where I can find an algorithm for winxp that will tell me what ver a key code works with. Like if the key is home, pro, upgrade, retail, oem ect... I do a lot of reloads and knowing which cd the code will work with would save lots of time


Thanks for the info...
__________________

coolted is offline  
Old 08-16-2005, 02:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

huh you why would you want to know that? I'm sure the only people who know are selective groups and microsoft try asking them.
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 08-16-2005, 02:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 29
Send a message via Yahoo to coolted
Default

I work as a pc tech doing multiple reloads of winxp a day. Sometimes the pc's don't have the coa stickers on them. I only get raw key code.
coolted is offline  
Old 08-16-2005, 02:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 371
Default

That doesnt add up....whats a raw key code?? An xp key can be used for 1 PC only. If the COA isnt on the machine or on the cd sleeve then you are pirating software and that shoudlnt be discussed here. Please clarify, where are you reloading these machines? Are they home pc's or an office network? There is really no reason to need to know what you want to know.
IAM_7154 is offline  
Old 08-16-2005, 02:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

they window algorithm is what is used to created pirated cdkeys... All cdkeys fallow a certain algorythm that microsoft uses, and no one should even have the slightest clue what it is, but people gather lots of information and can find out what the algorythm is, and thus are able to general false cdkeys.
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 08-16-2005, 03:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

As long as I wasn't the first to point it out this time. You will get no help with making keygens here at TF.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 08-16-2005, 03:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 29
Send a message via Yahoo to coolted
Default

I believe you guys are misunderstanding. Sometimes I am given a key code over the phone when I need to reload a client's computer. Unfortunately, most of the times, they don't have any idea as to what version of XP the code coincides with. Instead of going through and testing the code by trying to install one version, then another, then another, trying the code with each install, I would like to write a program that will run the key code I am given through the algorithms and tell me if its an invalid key, or that it belongs to Windows XP Home Retail, or Windows XP Professional Upgrade... so on and so forth.
coolted is offline  
Old 08-16-2005, 03:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 5
Default

I have to agree with ted here on this situation, its a shame that in such a constructive forum that software piracy is the first thing you turn to flames.

Ted: I am also looking for a solution and will keep in touch if I find anything and would also look forward to more constructive posts on this thread.

Thank you all,
TangoAlphaBunny is offline  
Old 08-16-2005, 04:13 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

unfortunately, you will probably need to either do the testing or contact MS. This isn't something that I think you will find without a lot of grief.
Good luck
Inaris is offline  
Old 08-16-2005, 04:21 PM   #10 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

This thread is going to be locked.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.