WinXP - i think i broke it - anyone help??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-18-2004, 09:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 4
Default WinXP - i think i broke it - anyone help???

Let me mention first that I'm new to WinXP, and don't know much about it. So anyways, I was having a few Windows related problems & just thought I'd reinstall XP over top of my old installation. However, I guess Windows had its own ideas about it. I got 95% of the way thru it to where it says it's registering components, and I got a little error box about not being able to find some file. I can't remember the name of it, but it was something along the lines of uureg I think. Anyways, I figure I'll reboot & try again. No such luck. Same problem. I tried a fresh install of windows & it told me that there is already an OS at \Windows and all my things would be deleted. Is data included in this, or just registered programs won't run. I can't get back into Windows at all. Even when I try to load from the cd, and select cancel install, it loads me into setup. I'm stuck in a perpetual loop. Where should I go from here? Thanks.

calcnerd is offline  
Old 02-18-2004, 11:09 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,231
Send a message via Yahoo to ADZ

I would Fdisk, Format, Reload. That would wipe any OS related problems and would make XP run a lot better as it is sometime glitchy when you do an upgrade.

ADZ is offline  
Old 02-18-2004, 11:40 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 500

Agree with ADZ,,

get a win98 boot disk,,, ensure that FORMAT.exe is on it,, if not copy onto the disk,,

boot with the floppy in,, go into FDISK ,, delete your partitions, create a new primary,, reboot with the diskette still in,,

this time choose to FORMAT C:,,

after formatting,, either,, reboot with Bootable XP disc in CD,,

or ,, switch drives at the A:\ and change to CD rom drive, and type SETUP,,

your choice,,

But as ADZ says,,,this should Fix it,,

Crash Abbott

\"You\'re the Disease, and I\'m the Cure!\"
CrashAbbott is offline  
Old 02-18-2004, 08:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 393
Send a message via Yahoo to ravenmadtaoist

I don't know if this would be of any help, as I don't have XP on my machine, but I have done some troubling shooting for friends with XP... which has only reinforced my abhorance of the OS and steeled my resolve not to have it myself...

I'm sure one of my forum mates here will correct me if I'm wrong but it is my understanding that (unlike the previous Windows OS's) you cannot "re-install" XP over an existing copy of XP on a machine. What's required is to either (a) create a new partition, do a new install to it, and import your programs and settings from the pre-existing OS installation... or (b) to avoid the hassle, completely reformat your drive and start from scratch.

Just figured you should know that so that you wouldn't try "fixing" things again that way...

Hope things get all straightened up there for you

Life is a terminal sexually transmitted condition. There is no known cure & we are unable to determine how long you will have to live.

What am I??? Flypaper for freaks????!!

My mood today is...<a href=""><img src="" alt="The current mood of Ravens_Tears at" border="0"></a>

:o 68.63905% - Geek God(dess):o
[The Geek Test]
ravenmadtaoist is offline  
Old 02-20-2004, 03:39 AM   #5 (permalink)
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 29
Send a message via AIM to girly Send a message via Yahoo to girly

actually you can reinstall xp over xp to fix problems, ive done it so many times that im scared to do it again-system restore might help the problem
girly is offline  
Old 02-20-2004, 05:00 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii

go into the bios, have it boot from cd-rom, stick the winxp cd in the drive, it'll boot up and load diagnostics, then delete the partition, recreate the partition, tell it to install on the drive and it'll ask you format (quick) or format (which would get rid of all the registry sigs) don't do the quick one, then it'll reinstall from scratch!
Demalii is offline  
Old 02-20-2004, 01:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 500

Truly ,,,

there is more than one way to skin a cat!


Crash Abbott

\"You\'re the Disease, and I\'m the Cure!\"
CrashAbbott is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:19 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.