WinXP - i think i broke it - anyone help???

Status
Not open for further replies.

calcnerd

Beta member
Let me mention first that I'm new to WinXP, and don't know much about it. So anyways, I was having a few Windows related problems & just thought I'd reinstall XP over top of my old installation. However, I guess Windows had its own ideas about it. I got 95% of the way thru it to where it says it's registering components, and I got a little error box about not being able to find some file. I can't remember the name of it, but it was something along the lines of uureg I think. Anyways, I figure I'll reboot & try again. No such luck. Same problem. I tried a fresh install of windows & it told me that there is already an OS at \Windows and all my things would be deleted. Is data included in this, or just registered programs won't run. I can't get back into Windows at all. Even when I try to load from the cd, and select cancel install, it loads me into setup. I'm stuck in a perpetual loop. Where should I go from here? Thanks.

I would Fdisk, Format, Reload. That would wipe any OS related problems and would make XP run a lot better as it is sometime glitchy when you do an upgrade.

Agree with ADZ,,

get a win98 boot disk,,, ensure that FORMAT.exe is on it,, if not copy onto the disk,,

boot with the floppy in,, go into FDISK ,, delete your partitions, create a new primary,, reboot with the diskette still in,,

this time choose to FORMAT C:,,

after formatting,, either,, reboot with Bootable XP disc in CD,,

or ,, switch drives at the A:\ and change to CD rom drive, and type SETUP,,

your choice,,

But as ADZ says,,,this should Fix it,,

cheers

I don't know if this would be of any help, as I don't have XP on my machine, but I have done some troubling shooting for friends with XP... which has only reinforced my abhorance of the OS and steeled my resolve not to have it myself...