WinXP explorer.exe been acting funky - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-03-2005, 10:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 244
Default WinXP explorer.exe been acting funky

when i go to open a folder or a search window it opens for like 0.1 of a second (like flickers open) and then the explorer.exe crashes and after about 5 seconds it starts up again with the window closed. I ran various anitvirus and various spyware but found nothing.
__________________

__________________
Have A Nice Day
chickenNcheese is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 10:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Do you have Windows Error Reporting turned on?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 10:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 244
Default

No
__________________
Have A Nice Day
chickenNcheese is offline  
Old 04-05-2005, 04:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 68
Default

you must replace ur explorer.exe file...look up in the WINXp installler and reinstall it....it the best...maybe the problem its a lil
bit complicated, but this will clean all suspect....
*disable all the startup programs and try to works like usually...

*but if u prefeer ...in DOS type sfc /scan (u need the winxp installer) this help u to find problems in the registry files...
oileruis is offline  
Old 04-05-2005, 04:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

do a repair install with a Windows CD. You will not lose data.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 06:21 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 244
Default

tried replacing the explorer.exe from a freind but still didn't work. and the windows cd is not in two pieces after i ran it over with my office chair.....oops! and even bigger oops is i didn't make a backup.
__________________

__________________
Have A Nice Day
chickenNcheese is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.