WINXP activation - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-25-2004, 07:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default WINXP activation

ok, so im on my grandmas computer, i reformatted the hard drive about a month and a half ago, i wondered if it had ever been activated because when i was on it after i formatted the hard drive and installed windows for about an hour installing software it never said anything about having to activate windows, so i went to c:\windows\system32 looking for wpa.dbl and wpa.bak, i saw wpa.dbl but no wpa.bak which means that it hasnt been activated. What makes this happen, i've seen it more than once but its like the first time you install or reinstall xp you dont have to activate it..it makes no sense but what makes it not happen?

kinda confusing if u ask me
__________________

IBMan is offline  
Old 11-25-2004, 07:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

http://aumha.org/win5/a/wpa.htm
__________________

office politics is offline  
Old 11-25-2004, 07:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

that helps quite a bit, so i guess its legal to junk a computer and buy a system and put xp on it? thats cool, but i guess i dont see how it tells what hardware the system came with, dont they just make an image of the os and reburn billions of copies? or do they give an image to each computer company and they add information to the image as to what harddware the computer comes with and distribute it that way?
__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 11-25-2004, 07:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

there are copies of xp without activation. Prolly only for volume licenses.
office politics is offline  
Old 11-25-2004, 07:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

thats cool...so is this probably why huge networks of computers(such as my school) all buy computers that are very similar?(all compaq/hp), most of the workstations have the same or VERY close to the same software and hardware ALL running windows xp pro, doesnt really matter just wondering, anyway thanks for the help.
__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 11-26-2004, 03:27 AM   #6 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

yup and they're prolly using sysprep installations on all their machines.
__________________

office politics is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.