winnt or windows ? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-20-2005, 10:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 189
Default winnt or windows ?

I have 2 computers --1 gateway , 1 dell . Both 2gig p4's running xp as os. The gateway os files are in the winnt folder. The dell os files are in the windows folder. Both use the ntfs structure.Why does xp have 2 different folders it can install itself into?
__________________

geekster is offline  
Old 01-20-2005, 10:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

Usually the only time that can happen is if the OS was "upgraded" meaning it had Windows 2000 on it "WINNT" folder then upgraded to Windows XP. It will retain the old OS folder name and just upgrade the components to the new OS. If it is a brand new or "clean" install of Windows XP then it will have the "WINDOWS" folder.
__________________

Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 01-21-2005, 01:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 189
Default

The gateway came from the factory with winnt as the main folder.
geekster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.