WinFax? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-22-2006, 12:42 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 111
Send a message via Yahoo to syringe
Default WinFax?

Hi guys,

I know it's sometimes easier just to buy a fax machine, but in the situation where you have a computer, on high speed (satellite) but still have a modem installed.

Can you use Symantec WinFax to send and recieve emails?

It would be using the dial up modem. I know that it works for sending, it just dials the number like a normal fax machine (providing its a fax modem), but what about recieving?

It would most likely be connected to a phone line that is currently used primarley for voice calls.

Could you set it up, so that it goes to fax after a certian # of rings?

How does it recieve if there is no fax number? Or would it be that line's number?

Any feedack would be great,

Thanks,
__________________

syringe is offline  
Old 03-22-2006, 09:18 AM   #2 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

winfax can send faxes as emails. it cannot receive emails, use any email client.

you can setup the modem to pick after X rings.

How does it receive if there is no fax number? the only way it would not have a number is on a callid blocked call, in which case it'll prolly label it as such.
__________________

office politics is offline  
Old 03-22-2006, 10:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

why not use windows fax? it's free. go to add/remove window component and check it and stick in your xp cd.


you can fax anything on your computer. open it, hit print and choose fax as your printer. you can recieve faxes if you enable it
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 03:46 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 808
Default Re: WinFax?

Quote:
Originally posted by syringe
Hi guys,

I know it's sometimes easier just to buy a fax machine, but in the situation where you have a computer, on high speed (satellite) but still have a modem installed.

Can you use Symantec WinFax to send and recieve emails?

It would be using the dial up modem. I know that it works for sending, it just dials the number like a normal fax machine (providing its a fax modem), but what about recieving?

It would most likely be connected to a phone line that is currently used primarley for voice calls.

Could you set it up, so that it goes to fax after a certian # of rings?

How does it recieve if there is no fax number? Or would it be that line's number?

Any feedack would be great,

Thanks,
QUESTION/ WHAT SATELITE ISN'T HIGH SPEED
derrmc is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.