WindowsBlinds - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
View Poll Results: What energy drinks do you consume?
Full Throttle 4 20.00%
Redline 0 0%
Red Bull 11 55.00%
Amp (Mt. Dew) 4 20.00%
Monster 7 35.00%
Rockstar 7 35.00%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 20. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-24-2007, 02:56 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 285
Question WindowsBlinds

Is windows blinds worth getting? I really like the idea of customizing my desktop themes and such but I have heard that if you want to uninstal it then it gives your computer problems.

I've also heard that it slows down your PC. Is that true?

What are your experiences?

Thanks

Gil
__________________

Giles is offline  
Old 01-24-2007, 07:32 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

I don't like WindowBlinds, I usually have to reformat after installing.

I prefer StyleXP, works much better.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-24-2007, 08:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
PeugeotEnthusiast
 
NayNay1991x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Leicester
Posts: 2,081
Send a message via MSN to NayNay1991x
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by talldude123
I don't like WindowBlinds, I usually have to reformat after installing.

I prefer StyleXP, works much better.
Agreed with talldude, WindowsBlinds hogs your system, style xp doesnt really do that
NayNay1991x is offline  
Old 01-24-2007, 11:58 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 285
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NvidiaDude
Agreed with talldude, WindowsBlinds hogs your system, style xp doesnt really do that
you say that it doesn't really do that but it still does it?
Giles is offline  
Old 01-24-2007, 01:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

I run WindowBlinds, no worries. I have uninstalled it, no problems. Reinstalled it, no problems. I have WB running at all times, even when gaming with no problems.

Odds are most who have a problem got their version from a torrent and it was bad.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-24-2007, 07:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

It shows that people have not run Windowsblinds 5. Rhey have run a older version which did use resources.

As i have said numerous times. WB5 DOES NOT USE any resources. Now it just replaces the UXTheme at startup. It only shows a Icon in the taskbar so that you can change skins when you wish. It is not even on your task manager.



As you see here. There is no Windowsblinds task running.As you can see i currently have it on this system running the Zelda theme. This is a old system that has only 512MB RAM. PC 2700 DDR with a Celeron 2.6 GHz CPU. If it doesnt slow down this system it wont slow down any others.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-25-2007, 03:11 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 285
Default

Im still not convinced! lol
Giles is offline  
Old 01-25-2007, 10:29 AM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Then what is the point of asking you are not going to even use what is given to you?
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-25-2007, 10:33 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 285
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Makaveli213
Then what is the point of asking you are not going to even use what is given to you?
I have used what I was given. I've used it to decide not to do it.

Giles is offline  
Old 01-25-2007, 01:04 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
snypercore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 738
Default

WB rox my sox, lol but really it uses nothing of my system same as most of stardocks software so..id suggest it
__________________

__________________
snypercore is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.