Windows XP won't start!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-14-2004, 01:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 5
Unhappy Windows XP won't start!!!

Ok, so this is what's happennig with my laptop, I don't know if it is the MBR or not:

I have windows XP,

After an windows automatically update and the Norton Symantec Anti-Virus Update, I was asked to restart the Windows XP, but I first tried to install an application called "PC Suite" for the nokia 6100 mobile. When installing the application I received an error message for registring the InstallShield for installing the software, so I thougth humm..., maybe I have to restart the windows XP, so windows update and the Anti-Virus update can take effect, and then I can install the application PC Suite.

But when I did the restart of Windows XP, I was asked to start the windows

normally,
or in safe mode,
or with dos prompt,
...,

but when i choose any of the modes I ended up with visualizing the Windows logo and the progress bar and a very quickly blue screen appears (I can't see what's in there) and the system restarts again! And goes back to the start the windows in safe mode, etc.

Any ideas please???



Tanx,
__________________

cave is offline  
Old 10-14-2004, 02:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

well, I don't have an answer for you, but I do have a tip.. when ever windows asks for a restart because you did something to alter the OS.. restart, otherwise you'll end up with problems if you try to install other software, drivers, etc...
__________________

Demalii is offline  
Old 10-14-2004, 02:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 266
Send a message via AIM to VICone Send a message via Yahoo to VICone
Default

Yeah you should always restart after an update buttttttttttttttt its kinda late now soo..

You can't even get into safe mode?
__________________
MCSA, MCP (070-210, 070-218, 070-215), A+, Network+, Security+<br>
<a href=\"http://profiles.myspace.com/users/17229411\" target=\"_blank\">MySpace</a> | <a href=\"http://mcmcse.com\" target=\"_blank\">MCMCSE</a> | <a href=\"http://brainbench.com\" target=\"_blank\">Brainbench : Free Certifications</a>
VICone is offline  
Old 10-14-2004, 09:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 73
Send a message via AIM to MrSpecial
Default

I had the same problem, so I called Dell, and they said my Hard Drive crashed. Maybe that's what happened here?
MrSpecial is offline  
Old 10-15-2004, 04:49 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 5
Default

I don't think so! A Year ago I created a FAT32 partition in my hard drive, so I ended up with a larger NTFS partition with the windows XP labeled C, and another smaller FAT32 partition labeled D. And with a bootable diskette, I can acess the D drive and its contents, but not the NTFS partition, this is, I cannot get acess to the D partition. So I'm pretty shure that the problem is in the MBR, cause the MBR just doesn't know where's the C partition.
cave is offline  
Old 10-15-2004, 07:15 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 5
Default

Can anyone have any ideas how can I fix this?
cave is offline  
Old 10-15-2004, 01:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 5
Default

Can I do fixmbr or fdisk /mbr? And still be able to run XP like It was before, or doiing it I would be erasing XP and all the files in the partition?
cave is offline  
Old 10-15-2004, 02:19 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 62
Default

well what i would suggest is that Format Ur system again may b the MBR is damaged and i would say it b a good bet if u reinstall the whole OS but back up all important data on some other HDD
__________________
Its Better To Be Pissed Off Than To Be Pissed On......
Kevz is offline  
Old 10-15-2004, 06:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 422
Default

boot from xp cd

press f2 for auto system recovery

start typing letter (any)

it will give you commands to type

pick the one that will restore your files
vance43211 is offline  
Old 10-19-2004, 05:33 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 5
Default

Sorry, none of that did work!

When i boot from xp cd and try to restore my files (by the way, it isn't F2, it's the 'R' for restoring files), I only have c:\windows> promtp. I did fixboot and fixmbr, still didn't worked. If I try the "cd.." or "cd\" in the prompt, the system says that I don't have permissions for that. I'm trying the warranty. Let's see what's gonna happen!

Tanx!
__________________

cave is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.