Windows XP Won't Load - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-28-2006, 08:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 37
Send a message via AIM to topherus
Default Windows XP Won't Load

Because of space problems on my old hard drive, I decided it was time for a larger one. I formatted the new drive and created 2 partitions. On the 1st partition (which I use for my business), I decided to do a clean install of Windows XP and re-installed my business software. On the 2nd partition, I used Norton Ghost 9.0 to copy my personal drive (OS and already installed software) to the new, clean partition. The transfer went well, without any errors.
I rebooted to the 1st partition; everything was good. I went into the boot.ini file to add the 2nd partition as part of a multi-boot system; then rebooted.
On the OS Choice Menu, I chose the 2nd partition.
I got the Windows XP loading screen, then the black screen with the mouse-pointer, then the small Windows XP startup screen. I did not get the "Windows is starting up" phrase, though. My system freezes and goes no further.
I kept rebooting, choosing Safe Mode, and Last Configuration That Worked, and I get the same result.
What am I missing?

Btw, I don't think I have to use Partition Magic's DriveMapper 'cause the drive letter on the new drive is the same as the old drive. None of the drive paths have changed.

topherus is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 11:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
ben_ben's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 350

it's because you used norton!

ben_ben is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 02:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 633

Did you have a second Operating System on the 2nd partition? If so, did you include it in your ghost image?

If you didn't have an OS on the 2nd partition thats the reason for it not being able to boot. It only contains program files that need to run on top of Windows.
ECTech is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 02:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861

you should have left the boot.ini alone and just remove your old drive. ghost set the new partition active, so you need to do nothing but copy it.

you could have use partition magic to copy it over. it would have explain that detail to you
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:53 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.