Windows XP Whistler? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-14-2004, 08:22 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 29
Default Windows XP Whistler?

While booting my girlfriend's comp, a boot screen shows up giving 2 choices:

1. Microsoft Windows XP Professional
2. Microsoft Whistler Personal

What is #2? I have never heard of it and do not know why it is there. I also haven't been able to get rid of this boot screen. Any ideas?

DISK is offline  
Old 04-14-2004, 11:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 268

You been living in the dark ages for the last five years or summat?

WHISTLER was the M$'s codename for XP before it released the OS.

Whistler was available as a download (XP's beta fully functional but still possibly buggy) to any interested parties through M$ channels or, as lots of people did ,thru' p2p.

M$s 'Longhorn' is in a similar position today......a codename for a (as yet) un-named OS....and can be downloaded via the same routes.

roho is offline  
Old 04-14-2004, 11:49 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 29

Interesting, thank you for the quick reply!
DISK is offline  
Old 04-14-2004, 06:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937

i just went to a ITT convention today and the rep from microsoft was showing us "windows longhorn", thats what they called it still. also they were introducing WinFX, i couldn't hear a damn thing he said though. it was so noisey and the speakers were so quiet.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 04-14-2004, 06:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
kboy's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041

Good Info Roho!
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX

1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 04-15-2004, 12:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 415

what happens when u try to boot into whistler im curious, and to get rid of it u need to modify ur boot.ini. type msconfig in the run box and go to the boot.ini tab, if xp pro is the default os to be loaded( it loads if u dont press enter the os select screen after a period of time, u should b able to set the timeout to zero and the screen should never come up. also is the whistler beta and xp pro both installed, if they r get rid of whistler

Fear is nothing but the anticipation of pain, be it physical, mental, spiritual or emotional.
Athlon XP 2200+ oc\'ed @ 1.93ghz
MSI ms-6738
768mb ddr2100
Nvidia mx420 :(
60gig maxtor 7200rpm
Dual boot with Mandrake 10.0 and Win XP Pro sp2
neversleeps is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:15 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.