Windows XP upgrade to Vista - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-07-2007, 02:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 7
Default Windows XP upgrade to Vista

Hi everyone, I am in the process of choosing a PC and i'm undecided on the windows OS to go for.
I like the sound of the windows vista, but i've been advised from numerous people to stay clear of it for a while-until MS have sorted the teething troubles out.

Would people here agree?

So what I was considering is buying a PC with XP on it, then upgrade it to the vista later. Has anyone upgraded their OS from XP to vista? and if so is there any pottential problems?

Thanks in advance, any info gratefully appreciated

AV1311
__________________

AV1311 is offline  
Old 03-07-2007, 02:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 42
Default

I have vista running on both my work computer, and my laptop. I love it and have had none of these teething issues you are hearing about. I would buy a pc that was already preloaded with Vista and move on from XP. Just my two cents
__________________

__________________
Windows Vista Ultimate
Koolance Case
ASUS PCDL Motherboard
Dual Thermaltake Aquarius III
Dual Xeons 3.06 oc\'d to 3.38
2GB Kingston Hyper X
2 120gb HDD
geforce 5200 256
Dual Monitors
Dual DVD burners
pinkfloyd2005 is offline  
Old 03-07-2007, 03:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 37
Default

Well I too heard that it has some trouble and some compatibility issues, I'm not going to upgrade till SP2 is out! But if you like Vista, you can always have your XP transformed to Vista (Like I have done) but I still have XP
Tcm9669 is offline  
Old 03-07-2007, 04:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 42
Default

I run a variety of apps, and with the exception of Nero I have been able to get nearly all of them to work. Vista is a great OS, and there is no way that I would ever go back to XP now.
__________________
Windows Vista Ultimate
Koolance Case
ASUS PCDL Motherboard
Dual Thermaltake Aquarius III
Dual Xeons 3.06 oc\'d to 3.38
2GB Kingston Hyper X
2 120gb HDD
geforce 5200 256
Dual Monitors
Dual DVD burners
pinkfloyd2005 is offline  
Old 03-07-2007, 07:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 268
Default

yea, upon hearing all the suposedly "problems" with vista, i decided that i wasnt going to get it for a while. but then i got vista yesterday. and no, i will not go back to XP.
__________________
Intel Q9550
Gigabyte P45T - USB3P
evga 8800GTS 512MB
evga 8800GTS 512MB
Corsair Dominator DDR3 1600 2x2GB
Razer Baraccuda AC-1 Sound card
Western Digital 320GB SATA
Caviar Black 1TB
Samsung 12xDVD-RAM (x2)
Logitech G110 Keyboard
Logitech G9x Mice
Logitech Z-5500 Speakers
Samsung 22" monitor
Samsung 19" monitor
Antec twelve hundred
joowan is offline  
Old 03-07-2007, 08:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

... Vista is fine, their aren't that many issues.

People are just putting vista down because they don't like having to pay for it.

Eventually vista will be like xp, a necessity for any computer.
alexsabree is offline  
Old 03-07-2007, 09:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default

My parents got Vista, and it's a cool OS but it has its flaws. Most programs run just fine. However, I didn't have too much luck playing some games. Jedi Academy (my favorite game) runs terrible, and after one use or so, refuses to load, ending in a VM_Create error. Also, be prepared for quite a shock when you go to configure it, as NOTHING is ANYTHING like it was in XP. Networking setup is confusing because of the new user folder system, where the users folders have been moved and sharing files is default password protected. So, if your users don't have passwords, sharing is ruined and you have to figure out how to turn it off. They made an awesome interface, then redid the age old menu system that people are used to in favor of this....

Also, the thing is crammed with annoyances, like, you put in a CD, and instead of autorunning it, like XP would, it asks you "Do you want to run this or not"...I'm thinking..."Why did I put the CD in? TO RUN IT!"...And when you want to copy a file...it asks you "Are you sure you want to copy this file?"...it's security is waaaaaaay out of it, and I sure hope SP1 gets rid of these minor problems, because they are detracting from what could be the best OS ever because of the incredible look of the Aero Glass and other effects it has.
__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 03-07-2007, 09:10 PM   #8 (permalink)
Veteran Techist Member
 
Slam'n Systems's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 828
Default

I have absolutly no problems with my Vista as far as I can see. Runs great on my computer and has been running great since I installed it.
__________________
3DMark FireStrike Ultra: 4,266
3DMark FireStrike: 12,043

  • Intel Core i7 920 Overclocked 3.2Ghz - Megahalem Cooler
  • eVGA E758-A1 X58 Intel LGA 1366 Motherboard
  • Corsair Vengeance 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM
  • MSI Armor OC 8GB GeForceģ GTX 1070
  • eVGA 650W G2 Modular Power Supply
  • Thermaltake Armor+ Full Tower Case
  • Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD
  • Corsair Force LE 250GB SSD
  • OCZ Vertex 30GB SSD
Slam'n Systems is offline  
Old 03-07-2007, 10:51 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 42
Default

Try installing that Jedi Game in backwards compatibility mode. For the most part if programs wont run in Vista, they run perfect in backward compatibility mode. Another thing I really like about Vista is the drivers that are native to the OS. If you look at my signature below, you can see I have a pretty high end system. When I installed Vista, every driver including the one for my wireless NIC were installed and ready to go. People were unsure about XP at first and for good reason. The earlier versions of XP were less than great. Vista has been in development for several years and is really stable right out of the box.
__________________
Windows Vista Ultimate
Koolance Case
ASUS PCDL Motherboard
Dual Thermaltake Aquarius III
Dual Xeons 3.06 oc\'d to 3.38
2GB Kingston Hyper X
2 120gb HDD
geforce 5200 256
Dual Monitors
Dual DVD burners
pinkfloyd2005 is offline  
Old 03-08-2007, 03:17 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 50
Default

It is well known that Vista detects errors much better than XP. So, you are going to see a lot of Error messages if you have been using your PC for a while.

And really using it for a while.
if you can understand what I mean.
__________________

xtraze is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.